We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value & very friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarence Gardens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clarence Gardens Hotel
Ranked #34 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Billingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value & very friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

A great value stay, the room was lovely and cosy, clean and with amazing sea views. Would be hard to get a better sea view in Scarborough! Paul & Paula were very friendly & helpful, made us feel welcome from our arrival. Bar area was warm and with lovely furnishings. TV etc so nice for a drink before our meal out. About a 15 minute walk to town, so a good location.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    168
    79
    42
    26
See reviews for
152
254
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in June 2011 for one night ahead of a family stay elsewhere in the town, booking it as a last minute break.

Though there as the only guest (minus a class of Year Six's and their teachers), all the staff at the hotel were very friendly and welcoming. Paul immediately offering me the option of booking a breakfast at the Hotel the following morning. The breakfast was excellent, with a good deal of choice.

I'd certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MJ_Lowson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from 2 nights. Paula is very friendly & made us very welcome. Cara works very hard , from serving us our delicious freshly cooked breakfast with an assortments of continental choices. Cara also runs the bar in the evenings, we met some very nice people,guests at the hotel, entrance steps a little steep with no handrail,but lift to all floors once inside. Shower difficult to manage as disabled guest, beautiful room,clean,cosy,warm. Paula helpful by ordering taxis, directions anything etc. lady who does rooms was very friendly & helpful, basically we had a wonderful sea view break & will be going back again

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markdownmicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Everything about our stay was excellent. The room , the food, the friendliness. The proprietors are the most attentive and helpful we have experienced in a long time and we have travelled a lot up and down the UK.. The room was very good and the rates we received really made the visit feel like a very worthwhile exercise. We would certainly come again. The only thing we could wish for is the good weather. And we had that as well. ! A double first first for us and for Scarborough. !. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Be precise in what you ask for - at the time of booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DPandML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Had a 1 night stay here. Staff was very friendly. It was cheap which is a big plus these days. Room was very clean and beautiful. Everything you needed in there. Breakfast was special very thing you wanted. And beautifully prepared. Will be staying there again. Highly recommended. Thank you for making us welcome at short notice x.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thejacjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Only stayed 1 night will definatley stay again, family room great value, room 35 has a brill view of north bay, relaxed at night in bar kids played pool. Nice and warm in hotel thank you Paul and Paula great hosts x

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shazbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is the third time we have stayed at this hotel. Brilliant. From the moment you walk in you are made welcome. Brilliant views if you get a seaview room. We cant comment on the food as we didnt eat in. Maybe next time! Saturday evening in the bar was great fun. Thanks to Cara? Great location for the North bay and only a ten minute walk from South Bay. The hotel was full this weekend but is very quiet. No noise from other rooms. Paula and Paul many thanks. Would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jan6494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.8 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,493 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
1.1 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#16 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.9 mi away
Scarborough Travel and Holiday Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarence Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarence Gardens Hotel

Property: Clarence Gardens Hotel
Address: 4-5 Blenheim Terrace Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarence Gardens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished in January 2016 with a £100,000 makeover, The Clarence Gardens Hotels boasts breathtaking sea views over Scarborough's famous and historic North Bay, you are only a short walk to all the major sights and sounds. The town centre is also on your doorstep with the South Bay beach only 5 minutes away. With facilities including a fully stocked licensed bar with panoramaic views of the North Bay, a large function room - perfect for all occasions and events, a games room with Nintendo Wii and flat screen television, the Clarence Gardens provides fantastic affordable accommodation in a superb location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Clarence Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing