We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarence Gardens Hotel
Ranked #33 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for our overnight stay”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Had a lovely stay in one of the sea view rooms. Room was clean, beautifully decorated and the views over the north bay and the castle were amazing. Hosts Paula & Paul were welcoming and happy to help with anything we needed from information about where to go in Scarborough (and how to get there), taxi numbers, or making a reservation at one of the restaurants in town. The Hotel only has a small number of parking spaces off-street, however Paula happily sorted us out with a parking permit for on-street parking in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    216
    92
    47
    30
See reviews for
183
316
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Had a 2 night stay, single occupancy in a very clean, bright and tidy double room.
Yes, it was on the third floor and the lift only went up to the second. Yes, the room wasn't the biggest and the furniture a bit iffy. Yes, the bathroom was small and narrow and the plumbing not brilliant. But if it's luxury you want, then search the 5 star hotels! For the price paid it was very good value, as was the breakfast, which was paid separately and priced according to your appetite.
The bar meals were fairly simple, not a huge variety, but available for the early evening sitting (particualrly catering for families with small children I imagine). Orders were taken up to about 7:30, but if that was too early, then they offered place settings for guests to order from suggested takeaway restaurants, which is a very nice touch.
The greatest asset of the hotel are the owners Paul and Paula. Paula tirelessly offered help and information, engaged with all the guests both adult and child, new and regulars, and created an extremely friendly and jovial environment.
The views are great and even with the wind howling and the rain beating down on the window, the atmosphere was excellent. It must be even more atmospheric during the winter months!
Parking is generally a problem in the North Bay area, but the Clarence offer a small plot of land for off-street parking behind the hotel, or permits for on-street parking.
Glad I found it !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OwlsofDerision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We recently stayed overnight at the hotel. The hosts Paula and Paul were very friendly and gave us a parking permit to park outside. It was explained that you may not get parked near the hotel as extremely busy. We did park down the hill which is quite steep!
The room was large with a double bed and two bunk beds. The bathroom was small.i am 7 months pregnant and struggled to move in the shower. Be warned it goes hot and then cold. You just can't get in between.
We had a lovely day out and went back to the hotel bar. We had a pleasant evening and retired around 10pm. We have a 4 year old so understand the excitement of children. At 11pm the room above us had the kids jumping of bunk beds, running around and the toilet door open with light on which has a fan. This was left on all night and extremely noisy! We then ad two kids running up to the room arguing who was opening the door and what could be used to prop door open so parents could get back in. Overall zero sleep and a very grumpy 4 year old. The double bed was comfy but I think the bunk bed mattresses were made of potatoes they were that lumpy!
The breakfast IS NOT included in the price and we were not prepared to pay the price! Especially as the continental is not included as well. We went to the north bay cafe two mins away from the hotel and had a brilliant breakfast.
Our room did not have a sea view. I can say though there was no noise from cars or gulls (just the residents) It would be nice if there were signs up to remind people of other residents and rules to say no jumping of bunk beds!
We paid £61.95 for the room and did not think this was value for money. The hosts were wonderful and everyone there was friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cmitchell219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goole
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Booked a couple of nights for a short break away and was reasonably happy with the hotel in most respects. Third floor room was a bit of a trek from the lift but was very clean, if pretty tiny. Comfortable bed and good quality shower and ensuite although extremely bizarre that there was no shelf or towel rail and I had to perform a 'quick fix' with the shower head as the clamp on the rail was missing.

I am rather dismayed, being qualified as a Health and Safety advisor, that fire doors to the main (only) staircase were continually propped open to assist ventilation. The hotel is somewhat stuffy, but as it prides itself on being a venue for children's field trips they should look at installing fans and fixed ventilation as opposed to risking lives.

Room Tip: In the summer the ventilation is poor and you will need the window open - but don't expect any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Just returned from 5 night break here. Had nice room on 3rd Floor (NB Lift only goes to 2nd Floor, but this was not a problem for me). Wonderful sea views from Bedroom. Paul and Paula really friendly hosts, and all staff friendly. Food, both breakfast and evening meal very good and excellent value for money. Hope to return soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank metromanHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Me, my friend and out two children booked here for the North Bay Entertainment and facilities. My initial thoughts when the taxi pulled up was, the exterior could use a lick of paint. I immediately spotted a cigarette ashtray hanging on the wall right at the entrance to the Hotel. We were given a friendly welcome from the owner, Paula and given a list of info, prices, breakfast deals etc. We were sent to "find" our room. A double bed and bunk beds, a flimsy wardrobe, a desk with 4 small drawers and two hard chairs were in the room. The room was small and very very hot. Bathroom could do with a lick of paint. Loo roll was the thinnest I've ever seen. there were only 2 sachets of shower gel and one sachet of shampoo for the 4 of us!? Tea and coffee facility was minimal. Two hand towels and 2 bath towels were on the rail. The bunk beds were metal and very squeaky, the double bed had a large foam memory mattress topper which was very comfortable. There were two stained, smelly single quilts in the bottom of the wardrobe and only 8 coat hangers. I had to ask for clean towels as they were not changed at all. The double bed was made by room service, but the bunks were not. Breakfast IS NOT included in the price, a large selection is on offer though and the owner Paul is an excellent chef. We didn't try the evening meals as we were out all day and into the early evening with the children. The dining room is in need of brightening up, quite unwelcoming. The breakfast staff were lovely. the owners children are involved in the service and running of the whole place. The small childrens tv/pool room is ok if the older children are reminded about their swearing etc. My friend is allergic to pet hairs and was disappointed that there were 2 dogs in the bar area and allowed to stay in the rooms. we didnt stay long in the bar because they were there, one other owner was asked to go to their room to check on their dog which was barking again and someone had put in another complaint about it. There was no outside noise through the night, no bother from Gulls sqwauking or dogs barking or other guests etc. yet again the room was stifling. I hated having to walk through the numerous people standing in the doorway of the hotel smoking. The ashtray was stinking whenever I passed it, even my 6 year old son commented on numerous times about the smokers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Did not expect too much for our overnight stay being charged at just £45.00, for a family room for 2 adults and 2 teenagers. (£10 extra for our dog).

We were very surprised.

Staff, Paul and Paula were very nice and helpful. Giving us info and parking voucher.

Room was bit on the small side for the 5 of us but for overnight it was fine.

The views from our room were spectacular.

Games room for boys was great free nintendo and pool at only 60p a game.
Bar was very reasonable for soft drinks for boys.

Overall very nice overnight stay.

Would recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: Ask for sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhb1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.1 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,216 reviews
0.9 mi away
Scarborough Travel and Holiday Lodge
0.2 mi away
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
#19 of 182 in Scarborough
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Helaina
The Helaina
#11 of 182 in Scarborough
485 reviews
1.1 mi away
No. 17 West Street
No. 17 West Street
#27 of 182 in Scarborough
306 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
#8 of 182 in Scarborough
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarence Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarence Gardens Hotel

Property: Clarence Gardens Hotel
Address: 4-5 Blenheim Terrace Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarence Gardens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished in January 2016 with a £100,000 makeover, The Clarence Gardens Hotels boasts breathtaking sea views over Scarborough's famous and historic North Bay, you are only a short walk to all the major sights and sounds. The town centre is also on your doorstep with the South Bay beach only 5 minutes away. With facilities including a fully stocked licensed bar with panoramaic views of the North Bay, a large function room - perfect for all occasions and events, a games room with Nintendo Wii and flat screen television, the Clarence Gardens provides fantastic affordable accommodation in a superb location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Clarence Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing