We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay, excellent location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clarence Gardens Hotel
Ranked #39 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stayed for one night, in a family room with a fantastic view, which made up for the slightly dated decor. The bathroom WAS extremely small, but not too bad for 2 adults and a 4 yr old. The hotel was extremely clean, and we were made to feel extremely welcome. Nothing was too much trouble. I'd highly recommend paying extra for breakfast too, the variety is excellent with locally produced sausage too. We would definitely stay again. Thank you.

Room Tip: 21 has a great sea view.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (657)
There are newer reviews for Clarence Gardens Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

592 - 598 of 657 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2012

Stayed 8th and 9th June, 2012. On arrival and throughout the stay there was a friendly and helpful atmosphere with lots of information to hand about the local area on leaflets or by asking Paul or Paula. On the first evening we had a meal of fish and chips in the bar which was very good and served on time. Breakfasts, which are not included with the room, may be taken according to your choice, whether continental, full English or fish and vary in price as stated on the menu. We had a Premier room which had small en suite facilities including a shower but no bath. It was clean and pleasant although the bed was not comfortable perhaps due to a poor mattress or the lumpy cover on top of it - or a combination of the two. The sea view over the North Bay was a highlight and if you are an early bird you may watch the fishing boats working offshore, weather permitting. There is also a clear view of Oliver's Mount and the castle. Car parking is easy, costing us £2.50 for on street, which seems very reasonable and dogs are welcome, which is always a necessity for us. All in all good value for money.

Room Tip: A sea view is well worth going for
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smking323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed here for one night on a room only basis. We also brought our little Rottweiller dog who was made very welcome. We had a room on the top floor which although small, was clean and nicely decorated with a wonderful view out over the north bay. There is a bar in the hotel again with lovely views out over the bay, and dogs are also allowed in the bar. There is free off road parking for guests at the back of the hotel so you dont have to worry about parking restrictions and costs. We had a great welcome and the owners/staff were really friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macca28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

we had a very nice clean and tidy family room. we were met by the owners Paul and paula, wonderful friendly people. we also, like others who had stayed had use of the hotel car-park for the whole duration of our stay. we had breakfast and it was very nice indeed. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a long or short stay, we will be returning to stay with the Clarence gardens again in the near future.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We decided to go away for the weekend as a last minute deal and found the Clarence Garden Hotel with a really good special offer. Although there is no private parking £2.50 gets you a parking pass for on street parking that we could use for the whole weekend. From the minute we walked in to the hotel we felt the friendly atmosphere. There was a lift which was a definite bonus as we were on the 2nd floor. The view of the North Bay and the castle from the room was fantastic, so the 2nd floor was a good option. The room was clean and had everything we needed for a weekend away, however the room could feel a bit small if you were staying for a full week. The bar was friendly, cozy and relaxed, We didn't have dinner but the menu looked pretty good and if breakfast was anything to go by then I'm sure any evening meal would be very nice. Breakfast was really good quality with a large selection of Continental items and there was a good choice of cooked breakfast as well. All in all our stay was very enjoyable and Paul & Paula made our stay very relaxing, nothing was too much trouble and they couldn't do enough to make sure we were made to feel welcome. We will return and we would recommend this hotel as a nice place to stay. Go on give it a try

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view its worth it
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireBusyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

From the minute I looked at their web page, to speaking with Paul, to meeting them, I knew this was going to be a great stay! Very welcoming, friendly and polite staff! We had a family room, plenty of space with 6 beds!! We were at the back of the hotel so didn't get a sea view but we weren't there to stay in the room. We travelled with my parents who's room had a sea view, fantastic! The bar is good and served lovely food, reasonably priced too. There was plenty of choice at breakfast, both for us and the kids. Will definately be going back again to stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel - sea view!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We had the family room, the room was basic but clean with plenty of space. It had a great view of the coast.
We were met by the owners who were extreamly friendly and helpful, they even allowed us to park our car in there hotel car park for the whole time we stayed even before check in and after we had checked out which saved us parking fee's. We even had drinks with them in the bar in the evening which gave the extra friendly touch.
Breakfast was as expected good and hot.
Will stay again.

Room Tip: All front rooms have great views of the sea
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.1 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#37 of 184 in Scarborough
230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
#18 of 184 in Scarborough
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Lysander
The Lysander
#52 of 184 in Scarborough
171 reviews
0.9 mi away
Scarborough Travel and Holiday Lodge
0.0 mi away
The Helaina
The Helaina
#14 of 184 in Scarborough
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarence Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarence Gardens Hotel

Address: 4-5 Blenheim Terrace Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $55 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarence Gardens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished in January 2016 with a £100,000 makeover, The Clarence Gardens Hotels boasts breathtaking sea views over Scarborough's famous and historic North Bay, you are only a short walk to all the major sights and sounds. The town centre is also on your doorstep with the South Bay beach only 5 minutes away. With facilities including a fully stocked licensed bar with panoramaic views of the North Bay, a large function room - perfect for all occasions and events, a games room with Nintendo Wii and flat screen television, the Clarence Gardens provides fantastic affordable accommodation in a superb location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Clarence Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing