We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Enjoyable stay"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarence Gardens Hotel
Ranked #34 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Enjoyable stay"”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

From the minute I looked at their web page, to speaking with Paul, to meeting them, I knew this was going to be a great stay! Very welcoming, friendly and polite staff! We had a family room, plenty of space with 6 beds!! We were at the back of the hotel so didn't get a sea view but we weren't there to stay in the room. We travelled with my parents who's room had a sea view, fantastic! The bar is good and served lovely food, reasonably priced too. There was plenty of choice at breakfast, both for us and the kids. Will definately be going back again to stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel - sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    212
    90
    47
    29
See reviews for
178
311
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hull uk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We had the family room, the room was basic but clean with plenty of space. It had a great view of the coast.
We were met by the owners who were extreamly friendly and helpful, they even allowed us to park our car in there hotel car park for the whole time we stayed even before check in and after we had checked out which saved us parking fee's. We even had drinks with them in the bar in the evening which gave the extra friendly touch.
Breakfast was as expected good and hot.
Will stay again.

Room Tip: All front rooms have great views of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
179 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We were greeted by a very friendly lady named Paula who could not do enough to help us and gave us lots of information and a map to find our way round Scarborough (our first visit) Our room was right at the top in the rafters and we got to it using the lift which went to the 2nd floor then the stairs up to the top. The room was small with a slanted ceiling which we hit our head on a few times and a little window. Our bathroom smelt a little bit smokey but we put the fan on and all was ok :) apart from this the rooms were clean and tidy with towels and tea and coffee etcwould stay again but would request a different room with a sea view , didnt go in the bar or have food so can not comment on that. But the staff were so lovely that we would go back for this alone.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel many times, the welcome is always friendly the rooms are clean and if you get a room at the front the views are stunning

Paula and Paul know the meaning of good customer service and make you feel very welcome, it is a family run hotel and you are made to feel like one of the family during your stay

Would highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: For views ask for a room on the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We had a wonderfull stay here in Feb 2012. Great hotel with fantastic views and access to the town. Lovely couple with a warm and friendly welcome, We definitely intend to come again. Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough

Room Tip: stayed in room 11, the one in the photos, a delight
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Stayed here for work purposes and shall definitely be back. Paul and Paula are very friendly, efficient, and accommodating,, and will go the extra mile for all their guests without hesitation.The bar is welcoming and reasonably priced, and on the odd night a scientific experiment may be in progress! They are genuinely nice people who enjoy what they do, and it shows.
As a single female traveller it is important to feel comfortable, and walking into The Clarence is like putting on a comfy pair of slippers!!
Rooms are fine and sea views are stunning, thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheba72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Would recomend this hotel to anyone,me and my boyfriend spent new years eve here and enjoyed the stay very much. Friendly and welcoming, just fantastic!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#20 of 28 in Scarborough
65 reviews
0.9 mi away
Scarborough Travel and Holiday Lodge
0.2 mi away
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
#29 of 183 in Scarborough
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
#8 of 183 in Scarborough
485 reviews
0.1 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 183 in Scarborough
384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airedale Guest House
Airedale Guest House
#47 of 183 in Scarborough
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarence Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarence Gardens Hotel

Property: Clarence Gardens Hotel
Address: 4-5 Blenheim Terrace Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarence Gardens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished in January 2016 with a £100,000 makeover, The Clarence Gardens Hotels boasts breathtaking sea views over Scarborough's famous and historic North Bay, you are only a short walk to all the major sights and sounds. The town centre is also on your doorstep with the South Bay beach only 5 minutes away. With facilities including a fully stocked licensed bar with panoramaic views of the North Bay, a large function room - perfect for all occasions and events, a games room with Nintendo Wii and flat screen television, the Clarence Gardens provides fantastic affordable accommodation in a superb location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Clarence Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing