We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly restaurant overlooking sea”
Review of Ivy House

Ivy House
Reserve with OpenTable
Ivy House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #206 of 357 Restaurants in Scarborough
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Stafford
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Friendly restaurant overlooking sea”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Good food. Varied menu. Generous portions. Friendly staff.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank SophieStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    36
    17
    21
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“nice restaurant on sea front”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Ivy house had good food and very good friendly service.
The cafe has a good position on the front opposite the harbour, there is some parking outside but Scarborough is very popular and parking can be hard to find.
Access is via several steps, but once inside is all on one level but there are no disabled toilets.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 29-1-23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“wonderful food and view”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

WE had a meal and drink here after a trip around the bay, we sat outside and really enjoyed the service and the ambiance, no problem with the staff so had they changed?

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank danayla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rude owner”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

I visited here and was completely shocked at how miserable and rude the owner was, also A male with grey hair who I presume was her husband talked to the young staff like they were slaves 'cup of tea', no please or thank you! I couldn't believe the staff stayed after how I saw the owners approach and talk to them and I was only there for around 35 minutes! I do hope the poor staff do not have to wear that uniform in the blazing hot months, yes smart but not practical! Any way, cheer up owner! Crack a smile! And husband....make you're own cup of tea.P.s the younger staff are lovely, message to them work for someone else :)

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank NorthYorky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Staff Couldnt care less”
Reviewed May 25, 2012

The hot food came about 10 minutes before the drinks, so was cold when the tea arrived, they got the simplest of oders mixed up

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tiv0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ivy House also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Ivy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing