We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go Hungry Horse next to Morrisons”
Review of Hungry Horse

Hungry Horse
Ranked #244 of 357 Restaurants in Scarborough
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Don't go Hungry Horse next to Morrisons”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Please dont mistake this Hungry Horse for the one at Crossgate Byways,We called in to the one next to Morrisons with a couple of family members one with a disability she struggles to walk far.
Once inside we found a table in a very dirty and unwelcoming bar area so we decided to move up a level no offer of the use of the Lift we discovered on the way out?. when we found a table on the next level which again was filthy and sticky, we set about going down to the lower level bar to find some staff, when at this point we were told that the wait for food was approx 45 mininutes. which to have being informed on the way in would have helped especially for the lady who struggled with walking,as we left the pub I noticed there was only one party of 8 people and a couple of other tables waiting seems strange for a pub of this size.
Anyway left and on hindsight this was the best option the place is disgusting and filthy and needs redecorating it used to be a lovely place to eat a few years ago.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank martyn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    47
    32
    26
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The hungry horse in crossgates, the byways”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Very very helpful staff who talked me through the menu as there was lots of offers and was very extensive too, lovely place to eat and nice and fresh too, the meals were good sizes and very good quality too, a great meal out

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mistake of our holiday, a real let down”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

It wa a choice between here and McDonald's. We chose here thinking it would b a lovely change and healthier. Mistake!!
Overpriced for poor food that we stupidly ate as we were hungry. They may b false advertising - A meal that was advertised as under 600 calories came with heavily fatted bacon that was really salty and a plate of lettuce. Why also would a kids meal consisting of overcooked chips, fish fingers and sphagetti come with a pot of butter!! An adults burger with the same overcooked chips couldn't even b bothered to have a bit of token salad thrown at it. Thoroughly underwhelming and disappointed with ourselves for not walking out!! The glasses weren't clean, tables were sticky and I would have been happier using public toilets as hygiene doesn't appear to be a strength. Needless to say we will not be returning.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarDeb1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great food, smiley happy staff, lots of stairs”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

This is a great place to eat with good food and very genuine happy staff. Once you get past the claustrophobic bar area it opens up in to a myriad of cosy little eating spaces with many levels and stairs - I've never seen so many stairs in one place.

The food is plentiful and excellent served by great staff who seem genuinely happy to be at work and serving.

Will definitely be going back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tony-likes-tearooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb food!!”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

I went here with my friend for an evening meal and it was scrummy. I had nachos as a starter and you can add chicken for only 99p. This was really good. Just enough for 2 people to share. As my main I had the new Yorker hot dog and this was lovely. It even came in a red American style basket. It was a really good quality sausage too...no gristle!!! This was only £4.99 too. And for pudding I had the candamania which was good, but could do with more sweets next time.

The atmosphere was good as it was busy and there was lots going on. The restaurant is really modern, which is clean too and the toilets are clean too. In the booths there are small flat screen tvs which had cbeebies on and these seemed to keep the kids happy from what I could see.

Overall really good with nothing to really complain about. Will be going again!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hungry Horse also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Hungry Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing