We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, though not great”
Review of Cafe Fish

Cafe Fish
Ranked #11 of 358 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $103
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good, though not great”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Pleasant but simply decorated restaurant. Bar/waiting area a little cramped if two or three parties arrive at a similar time. William, the owner, is an amiable fellow who will probably advise and take your order personally. The fish scotch egg starter is very good, and the rest of the menu looks good. Wine list a little pricey for what it is. Service was good. Hard to find a better fish restaurant in Scarborough, but there are surprisingly few.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 500Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    612
    146
    45
    32
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very nice if you like fish I don't and had steak but still very nice”
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

We came here for a birthday there were 8 of us and the restaurant was really good too us
The food looked lovely for fish lovers as I don't I had the ribeye well done it was cooked perfect
I couldn't fault the place not sure on the price as I didn't pay the bill but must try if u like fish

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amyzara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Birthday Party”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

I went to this great fish restaurant for my sister's 60th birthday . the staff were really helpful and the food was out of this world.
Try the fish kiev or plaice stuffed with lobster.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Foggy Evening Meal”
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

We booked for 7.0pm and arrived to find the Restaurant pretty busy. There are 2 courses for £20 between Sunday and Thursday. We picked the freshest fish as advised by William who took our order personally in the bar area. Both courses were superb and the vegetables were fresh and cooked to perfection . I had the Lemon Curd Sorbet for dessert which was a bit different . We would Definetly return .

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Waspie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Another great taste experience!”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

After visiting twice in October and having two fantastic meals, we couldn't wait to return again on our recent Easter break. This time our son came with us, he too was impressed with the food. It is such a wonderful place to visit, not only for the food but the service and welcoming atmosphere are outstanding. Angelica definitely needs a mention she was very attentive,informative and friendly. William was his usual bubbly self, with lots of advice on the specials. I would always trust his judgement. Can't wait for our next visit. Thanks to all staff for a wonderful dining experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank biccy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Fish also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Cafe Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing