We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality fresh fish restaurant”
Review of Cafe Fish

Cafe Fish
Ranked #10 of 357 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $103
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
“High quality fresh fish restaurant”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Myself and my husband booked a meal there on Saturday evening and right from the start we were given a friendly welcome from the staff there. There was a great choice on the menu though things can alter slightly daily depending on the fish that has been caught that day. This just shows how fresh the fish is. We ordered the half cup fish chowder to start with. It was beautiful, very tasty, creamy and full of variety of seafood. Very filling also. For our mains we chose the fillet of sole with crayfish and lobster in a thermidor sauce. Also alongside it was 3 large scallops, all beautifully cooked! The food was superb and would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who loves seafood. Very friendly yet professional staff also, it was a lovely experience and if we are back in Scarborough it is a place we would definitely visit again!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawn755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    599
    143
    45
    32
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
chesterfield
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A nice friendly restaurant ”
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

A really nice layout and friendly staff. The owner / manager was very knowledgeable and accommodating. The good was tasty and well presented and good value for money - the only downside was the dining area was very cold despite the lovely waitress putting on extra heaters !

Helpful?
Thank shazzer58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“We loved it”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We had to visit Café Fish on our visit to Scarborough. The reviews we've read were intriguing. Would the food be as good as rated and who is William? Only one way to find out. We'd booked a table in advance for Friday at 7.00pm. We were warmly greeted by the waiter and directed to the bar area where Angelika took our pre-menu drinks order and invited us to sit and check out the menu. A group of six were already doing similarly. We wanted the top notch Fruits de Mer. No problem and she asked about our experience with raw oysters, offered suggestions about the order in which the five courses came and whether we wanted to tweak anything e.g. hot crab followed by hot lobster or vice versa. Taken to our table and what followed was the most fantastic five courses. Waiter service was slick a bit too slick on one course as I hadn't finished. Angelika checked on us and it was at this point I engaged in conversation about trip advisor reviews and in particular, William. She said William had just arrived in the restaurant, following a drive back from Manchester Airport where he'd come back from a holiday. Said we'd heard much about him. She asked if we'd like to meet him. Meet him we did. William came to our table and sat with us for quarter of an hour. Despite him experiencing a five hour ordeal to return from his holiday, he was very interested in how we’d enjoyed our meal, explained his passion for good fish and very clearly, his support for his team. The food, the service, Angelika’s commitment and professionalism and the pleasure of talking over with William about his passion and support for his team made, for us, an outstanding evening. Thanks from us both to all the team at Café Fish. You all contributed to a marvellous evening for my partner’s 40th birthday. We’d love to come back some day.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dillan1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Fish Restaurant”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Met by Polish Head waiter very kind and attentive, excellent English, and very helpful in making choices, so good to find staff who know what they are serving.
For starter I had smoked salmon more like a full meal lots of very freh and tasty fish, for mains I had fish platter and my wife had the Hake, beautifully cooked and presented.
I would recommend this restaurant to any one.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Poorbobsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Consistently Excellent”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Couldn't resist starting with the fishy version of a "Scotch Egg", which was spot on. For the main I had Halibut with seasonal veg, again cooked and presented to perfection. Despite the tempting offerings on the Menu I suggest you always check the specials, the well informed staff may be able to offer variations to suit your taste. Not to missed if you are in the area.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Fish also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Cafe Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing