We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting restaurant experience, excellent food.”
Review of Cafe Fish

Cafe Fish
Ranked #9 of 358 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $103
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Interesting restaurant experience, excellent food.”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

When you visit Cafe Fish, you will be presented with a menu. Order a drink and ignore the menu. The owner will then come and describe the food in detail. Unless it would cause a serious allergy, eat what he tells you to eat, with the caveat that you squeeze in some chowder somewhere.

Unless, of course, you want a jus-u-like 3 courses of slight variations on what everyone else is serving. If that's what you want, you'll be disappointed.

The food is great, fresh seafood with a good wine selection and fantastic desserts. Higher end of the price bracket, but measures up. Would come again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doctorludo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelika I, Manager at Cafe Fish, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Sir/ Madam ,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review about your last visit at Cafe Fish . We appreciate our all customers feedback and we are pleased that you have enjoyed your dining experience with us. We are glad that you were happy with William's recommendations , we always try to please our customers. Hopefully , see you again for some more Scarborough fresh seafood.
With regards ,
Angelika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    612
    146
    45
    33
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very nice seafood restaurant.”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

A lovely restaurant, fresh seafood cooked extremely well. All fresh, a menu with imagination, a cook somewhere who knows their stuff. Very pleasant decor, spacious (how many places just pack you in?). Would recommend, would go again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gremlin52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelika I, Manager at Cafe Fish, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Sir/ Madam ,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review about your last visit at Cafe Fish . We appreciate all customers feedback and we are pleased that you have enjoyed your dining experience with us. We will hopefully see you again for some more Scarborough fresh seafood experience .
With regards,
Angelika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“the best sea food ever !”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

this was our first time in this restaurant and we were not disappointed ! the food was amazeing and the service was excellent too. well worth the money for what you get, the atmosfear was lovely and we will deffinatly eat there again soon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trish m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelika I, Manager at Cafe Fish, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Sir/ Madam ,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review about your last visit at Cafe Fish . We appreciate all customers feedback and we are pleased that you have enjoyed your first dining experience with us. We are looking forward to see you again for some more Scarborough fresh seafood experience .
With regards,
Angelika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent food. Strange owner..”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed in Scarborough for a stop over and went to Cafe Fish because of the excellent reviews it had received and I can only agree. The sea food is really delicious and fresh, even on the weekend. The staff is very accommodating and friendly and having only booked an hour beforehand, much to our delight, we got a nice table next to the window with a nice view.
The only slightly irritating thing about cafe Fish is, who I am guessing, the owner of the place. He kept on walking through the dining room in a very "macho" kind of way, doesn't introduce himself and stares at you whilst you're eating. Little strange, but hey, didn't hinder us having a nice evening. Prices are very fair and really not expensive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank londontravellerE2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelika I, Manager at Cafe Fish, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Sir/ Madam ,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review about your last visit at Cafe Fish . We appreciate all customers feedback and we are pleased that you have enjoyed your dining experience with us. I am sorry you have found the owner very irritating , we certainly will take your comments into consideration . Hopefully , we will see you again for some more Scarborough fresh seafood experience .
With regards,
Angelika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must for seafood.”
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

I went with my partner for my birthday on the 22nd. We didn't book but didn't have to wait long for a table. The waitress was very friendly and made some good recommendations. We had the chowder to start which was wonderful. We then had a trio of fish from the specials menu, served on a bed of stir fry and fresh veg. Although it didn't look much when it was first served, it was wonderful and I was so full. I have now been here 3 times and have never been disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DawnEmily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelika I, Manager at Cafe Fish, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Sir/ Madam ,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review about your last visit at Cafe Fish . We appreciate all customers feedback and we are pleased that you have enjoyed your dining experience with us. I am pleased to say that on the 22nd of June it was myself that served you and I am glad that you were happy with my recommendations , I always try my best to come up with a nice and suitable meal for our customers. We will hopefully see you again for some more Scarborough fresh seafood experience .
With regards , Angelika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Fish also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Cafe Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing