We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Fish

Cafe Fish
Ranked #11 of 353 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $103
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Scarborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

I booked at table for my wife and I for Valentines day evening meal, so i wanted this to be good. We were not disappointed! The fixed price menu (for 3 days over Valentines I think) was varied and tempting, and I think a lot of thought had gone into it. We had a five course meal, with each course being perfectly cooked and really tasty. The restaurant owner looked after us really well and took a personal interest in ensuring we enjoyed our night out. Highly recommended on the strength of our first visit - probably won't be our last..

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    573
    142
    40
    31
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Looks good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Sounds good, looks good and wins awards but after several visits I am not convinced. However presentation was good

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

just back from a quick break in Scarborough, went to this restaurant as was impressed with previous reviews on trip advisor..it did not disappoint.
Both my boyfriend and I are fish fanatics and really appreciate good fish and seafood, we got both in abudance. The service was excellent to start, so friendly, I recommend the fish chowder.. Fish soup in effect, was to die for also the main meal of sole wrapped around crab and lobster.... say no more. It was absolutely delicious and will be going back as soon as we can, would be worth paying the train fare from liverpool just to visit the restaurant again as would love to try more on the menu it was all mouthwatering.
10 out of10 and more

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lasc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
134 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“We will be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We went last night based solely on the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor as the restaurant doesn't have a web site. We are so pleased we did! This is no fancy stylishly decorated place, so the excellent reviews are purely based on the quality of the food, as they should be. We ordered the two daily specials on the recommendation of our superb waitress and we were not disappointed; the food was to a tremendous high standard. We ordered a bottle of Viognier which was also superb and reasonably priced. We were even more pleasantly surprised when the bill came. If you enjoy seafood this is the place to go.
We live near The Crab and Lobster, Asenby, which has a good reputation. However, we both agreed the food we had at Cafe Fish was better than anything we have had at The Crab, and half the price. We will definitely be back when we are next in Scarborough.

Helpful?
Thank w0bblylegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Booked a table here on a Sunday night after reading reviews on here. Was pleased that we had! Food was fantastic and the owner was very helpful, explaining the menu and what was fresh that day. Would agree with a previous review that it was a little cold in the restaurant but then again it was a very cold night! Would definatly return when next in scarborough!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Fish also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Cafe Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing