We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Grainary(Scarborough)
$96
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wrea Head Hall(Scarborough)
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crescent Hotel(Scarborough)
$167
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Park Manor Hotel(Scarborough)
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palm Court Hotel(Scarborough)
$168
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ambassador Hotel(Scarborough)
$77
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Esplanade Hotel(Scarborough)
$103
$92
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$90
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Crown Spa Hotel(Scarborough)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (482)
Filter reviews
482 results
Traveler rating
189
195
72
17
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
189
195
72
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself driveshearings hotelsshearings breakdining roomsuperior roombuffet breakfastevening mealthe cliffturkey and tinselnational holidaysmonday to fridaythe hotel car parkmain townper daypublic areasenjoyable staythird floor
Filter
Updating list...
451 - 456 of 482 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2011

Myself and my partner stayed at the hotel on a special offer 3 day b&b break. We were very impressed. We had our room upgraded to a "Superior Room" which was really comfortable, clean and modern. All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, especially the reception staff, Pam, Lois and the Manager Ruth. Location ideal for walking into Scarborough. We had a lovely time and would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank julie-antonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2011

Thank you for your wonderful comments and for taking the time and trouble to provide such an excellent review- I will pass them on to my team. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your weekend break with us and hope that we will welcome you back to stay at the New Southlands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2011

We booked with coast and country for a four day break paid extra for an upgrade and were delighted with our room .Room had four poster bed and all mod cons menu was superb nbothing was too much for any of the staff.The only fault was the lack of entertainment.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tansy36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2011

Thank you for your lovely comments. I have a fantastic team at the hotel and they all work hard to ensure our guests enjoy all aspects of their holiday. Unfortunately we do only have entertainment on some evenings, but I hope you enjoyed the evenings that there was entertainment on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2011

This hotel has been refurbished with very pleasant public rooms, modern bedrooms and friendly staff. Its a great pity that some of the little things were not up to scratch. Our bedroom was very comfortable with a bright and airy bathroom. It was impossible to see in the wardrobe or to read except in bed due to the lack of lights and the dullness of energy saving light bulbs. A shelf to put toiletries on in the bathroom would also help, along with a towel rail big enough to hang the towels on.
The breakfasts are good, though all the toast was cold, and none of the eggs were soft. Some of the main course dishes in the evening were very good, but all the vegetables were frozen and the special menu for New Years Eve was a great disappointment . You had to choose between a fish course and a sorbet, and the cheese and biscuits were not offered. We stayed for three nights and had to ask for cups to serve ourselves to coffee on all three nights. It was also impossible to find seats together in the lounge for the evenings entertainment........why was the restaurant not used? The so called administrative fees are a con, as you are charged a per capita fee, NOT a per transaction fee!! All in all, could do much better with a little more effort,, especially on the part of the Maitre d'Hotel

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KateDriffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2010

The single supplement for a single "cupboard" was a disgrace,the bathroom minute,and smelt of sewers,the blanket on the bed needed throwing out.Hotel refurbed from the bothom upwards ,only didnt reach the bedrooms.Mealtimes were a bit chaotic,but food wasnt bad.Poor value for money.Wake up Shearings.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank llyndal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2010

The food was the worst that we have ever experienced, either in a restaurant or hotel
The bedrooms wer poorly cleaned and need updating, ie.new matress, sash window frame needs cleaning and decorating.
Bahroom shower mat was that grotty we did not use it. Silicone grouting in the shower peeling and needs replacing.
On the positive side the staff in the dining room and bar were efficient and attentive.
The entertainment on the Thursday night was the best part of a disappointing stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank maggieed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews