We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

On arrival the check in was very simple and the staff on the reception were very polite. The room was what I expected with good tv with text etc but the room was abit warm at night although the weather was very hot during our stay. Breakfast was very good with a wise range of different foods to choose from with ham and egg, kippers to name a few. The evening meal was a 3 course meal 4 (with cofee) again good choices. Although on a few nights the waiting service did differ, but on the whole the waiting service was good and efficient. Beer prices slightly expensive although expected, maybe a wider range of bitters would of been better as there was only 1 draught available. Overall a very enjoyable stay and would go back

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAMES K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Thank you for your review I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay. I will be sure to pass your kind comments on to all the staff. We are always looking at ways to improve the service that we offer and we are currently looking at expanding the range of bitter that we stock to include a local draught bitter. I hope we see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (448)
There are newer reviews for Bay New Southlands Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 448 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2014

Stayed in a basic standard room and it really is true you get what you pay for! Room on top floor with lift to access. Plenty big enough room but window very small and as weather was very hot it was stifling at night slept 3/4 on top of bed. We did not see many staff so maybe shortages of workers some days. Regardless of décor cleaning MUST be of a good standard. Complained of two issues to bathroom cleanliness which really were urgent to be dealt with and to be fair were taken on in a serious manner asap to a satisfactory level it is just a shame they were there. Staff were efficient and always working .I gather from others some rooms are lovely but not ours. We got a very good deal from shearings on price hence average rating

Room Tip: Upgrade you room. Its cheap and well worth it
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank supergranWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Thank you for your review I see that you were not totally satisfied with your stay for which I apologise, I am however pleased to see that the issues were dealt with once reported, to your satisfaction. The deals that are on offer are very good value for money, I hope we see you again at the New Southlands or another Bay Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

we have stayed at this hotel 3 times now, everything at the hotel is very good .after having stayed here on 21st july 2014 found the entertainment a bit poor this time too many quizzes and bingo came on holiday to relax and not to be roped into quizzes i heard people complaining how little time the singers were singing and must also agree wasnt like this prevous visits is this a way the hotel is making cut backs so they don't have to pay them so much very disapointed.

Room Tip: beware of noisy seagulls day and night
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay. In regards to the entertainment we have on offer we try to incorporate a variety which includes bingo and a quiz, I will certainly ensure your comments are passed on. I hope this will not deter you from staying with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We had a very enjoyable journey on a Shearings coach the driver was excellent (Roger) and was very knowledgeable about the area. On arriving at the hotel the outside could do with painting but it is a totally different story on the inside everywhere was clean and comfortable. We stayed in room 218 which was excellent, a large room with seating available to watch the T.V.The room was clean and very comfortable with a 4 poster bed and a large en-suite with a bath and walk in shower. The hotel staff were always very polite and the choice of food was very good. The entertainment was excellent but we were disappointed that there was no entertainment at all on Wednesday evening. Perhaps a quiz or bingo on the Wednesday would have been better than nothing at all. Overall we had a very nice holiday and would recommend this hotel. We will definitely be going again in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to post your review. I will ensure that your comments are all passed on to the staff who will be happy to see that their hard work is greatly appreciated, Room 218 is one of our premier room and they have great facilities to ensure a relaxing stay. We do usually put a quiz or two out on a Wednesday night this seems not to have been the case during your stay I apologies for that. It will be great to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

This hotel was perfect and we can't wait to go again, the service was fantastic, the staff were friendly and very helpful ,the food was top standards and you a lot of choice and overall I great holiday.
Phil,Pauline and val from plymouth

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pauline_jory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

It is great to see that you had a fantastic stay with us, I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to all the staff; we hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Well run hotel with excellent obliging staff. Probably as good as one could get for a budget hotel. Stayed four nights in a standard room which was of adequate standard and cleanliness except for a miniscule TV.. A room upgrade gets a better tv set.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edwinFareham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thank you for posting a review of your stay, I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us; the breaks that are on offer are great value for money. As you mention the upgraded rooms do come with a larger TV but these rooms are subject to a supplemental charge. I hope we seen you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We had a superb 5 day break at this hotel. The common rooms were light, clean and airy although our bedroom was a little tired and had a window propped open with a piece of wood. The varied menu was amazing and well cooked, and the staff were superb. The entertainment was very enjoyable and all in all everything was good value for money.The downside was the horrific coach trip with Shearings who seem to concentrate on the maximum economies for their coaches and couldn't care less how these affect the customers. Should we return we will take the car.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 70nelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

It is lovely to read your review regarding your stay with us I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to our Kitchen and Restaurant teams. We are currently looking at upgrading some of our rooms,I am unable to comment on your coach experience but will ensure your comments are passed on to the relevant department. I hope that we do see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,909 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#9 of 26 in Scarborough
389 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
915 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,258 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay New Southlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay New Southlands Hotel

Address: 15 West Street, Scarborough YO11 2QW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: $114 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay New Southlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Southlands Hotel is a handsome, intimate property perfectly situated on Scarborough’s South Cliff. From the hotel, the Esplanade, Italian Rose Gardens and South Bay are easily accessible. Scarborough itself retains much of the character of an elegant Victorian seaside town, with handsome architecture and walkways, as well as boasting more modern entertainments and attractions. Further inland, North Yorkshire is an oft overlooked gem of a County offering beautiful scenery and countless attractions both historic and modern. The hotel possesses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Bay New Southlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Southlands Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing