We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“first time with shearings” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay New Southlands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“first time with shearings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

First time with Shearings not dissapointed lovely trip. Very welcoming clean, friendly the room had tea and coffee ty and was very clean. Nice to be served in the dining room a change from the usual buffett. Breakfast good quality and well cooked.. Dinner plenty of choice and three courses Service good and our waiter Carl was pleasent, efficent and very friendly. Would recommend to anyone who for wanted a short break at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzy12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
It is great to see new guests to both the New Southlands & Shearings enjoying there stay. I will be sure to let the Chef see your comments and also Karl in the restaurant they will be both pleased to see that you enjoyed your food and service. I hope that you will become a regular guest with Shearings and we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    169
    63
    16
    8
See reviews for
44
253
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

I have not been To Scarborough since I was ia kid in the North east. s o we booked a weekend through Shearings. Shearings hotels are always of a decent standard so we had an idea what to expect. We certainly werent disappointed, the hotel is situated on the North cliff area of Scarborough, although there is a strange one way system it is easy enough to find. The reception is large and airy, only 3 floors but a small lift up to rooms. We booked a superior room, it was large and well equiped and quiet,apart from mr. seagull. The food is fine with a good selection on the menu and served quickly and professionally by the staff. A three course dinner and three course breakfast what more do you want. Our room and the public rooms were all clean and tidy, the bar area is clean and well served with enough staff to cater for independant travellers and coach trips. The entertainment of an evening is always down to taste but it was never offensive. Great break, recommended.

Room Tip: When staying with Shearings i always upgrade to a better than standard room, we did this time and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tonymac1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post such a nice review of your recent break. I am glad to see that all aspects of your stay were enjoyable, I will be sure to pass to comments on to staff as they will be pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that we see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Had a long weekend stay at this hotel, booked through Shearings. Nice clean and welcoming. Rooms basic but clean with tea/coffee making faciiities. Dining room large and spacious excellent service especially from David, Menu was good and catered for all. Entertainment good, especially Saturday nights. Bar service good, prices about average. All in all a good cheap weekend and looking forward to going again.

Room Tip: Although Scaborough is 'hilly' this hotel is situated at the south bay and its not so hilly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scouse043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
It is great to read such lovely comments I'm glad to see that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. I will be sure to pass your comments on to David who works very hard to ensure excellent service. I do hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for four nights. The food is good, the restaurant/dining room staff are excellent, but there isn't really enough food and I am not sure if it is cooked within the hotel, or bought in (cook/chill?). The rooms were cold because the central heating is only programmed to come on for 6 hours out of 24 hours - it would come on at 7am and go off at 9am, back on again at about 16.00 and go off again before 19.00 - none of this would make me feel I wanted to stay at this hotel again - is this part of a new owner group's cost cutting plan - definitely not as good as I had hoped.

Room Tip: this hotel does not have a fitness centre or a swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 485Yorkshirelass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thank you for posting your comments of your stay I'm disappointed to read that some aspects of your stay were not up to your expectations. The heating as you say is on a timer but you are able to request a heater for your room. It is good to read that you found the service in the Restaurant excellent I will pass your comments on to the Restaurant team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Went on a weekend to surprise friends, as it was one of our friends and my Birthday. Booked with Shearings, and was good value for money. Having said that the coach driver left a bit to be desired, good driver but a bit of a grumpy so and so.
The Hotel was god and clean. I think it has just had a bit of refurbishment done. The food was acceptable but not a lot of it. The entertainment was a bit mediocre, but we had a good laugh anyway.
On the whole we had a great weekend, apart from the abysmal North Yorkshire weather, which no one can do anything about.

Room Tip: Go for a Superior room or higher if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iggy38Bolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments of your stay at the New Southlands I'm pleased to see you found your stay value for money and enjoyed your weekend apart from the weather. We hope to see you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
107 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

Went for a Shearings Holiday the room was clean and nice, clean bathroom and shower. the rest of the Hotel was clean and been refurbished. The bar area was a bit basic and more like a day centre then a bar, The entertainment was good for the four nights we were there, but you had to go in front of the act to get to the bar, this was a bit of a pain. Location, not bad but no good for disabled people it is a struggle to and from town with the hills, but you can catch a bus..... FOOD sorry but this was a disgrace, they need a new Chef, everything was over cooked and small, well below standard for Shearings, we had to eat out, along with a few other people, you can only cut back so far, Only one member of staff during the afternoon, to run reception the bar and any other problems, only two waiters at the restaurant , people got fed up waithing......unless they sort this out we would not recommend this Hotel

Room Tip: Book a double these were nice rooms, not single they are a bit on the small side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am sorry to see you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay. I will investigate your comments regarding your meals and the staffing levels. However I am glad to see you enjoyed the Entertainment and I hope that if you will come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

This was our second visit and again we were the youngest in the place and ours were the only children - but they loved all the attention( including a bag of mini eggs left out for them on our last breakfast). In the last couple of years there have been a few upgrades - carpets, furniture, modern TV, new shower etc and altogether we were very impressed. Staff are all very helpful, friendly and attentive. Food was very good - plenty of choice. Entertainment very good. Our family bedroom was really large and very comfy. Not far from the South Bay cliff top and the children loved the tram ride to and from the beach Altogether a really good value long weekend.

Room Tip: Ours was a large family room 215
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MillsWalbyoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
I am so glad to see you enjoyed your break with us again and thank you for leaving such lovely comments. I will be sure to pass them on to my team and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,497 reviews
1.3 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,273 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay New Southlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay New Southlands Hotel

Property: Bay New Southlands Hotel
Address: 15 West Street, Scarborough YO11 2QW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay New Southlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Southlands Hotel is a handsome, intimate property perfectly situated on Scarborough’s South Cliff. From the hotel, the Esplanade, Italian Rose Gardens and South Bay are easily accessible. Scarborough itself retains much of the character of an elegant Victorian seaside town, with handsome architecture and walkways, as well as boasting more modern entertainments and attractions. Further inland, North Yorkshire is an oft overlooked gem of a County offering beautiful scenery and countless attractions both historic and modern. The hotel possesses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Bay New Southlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Southlands Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing