We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent weekend break at the seaside”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“excellent weekend break at the seaside”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel for a three night weekend break. This is the latest of many return visits over the past five years and is easily our preferred hotel of this chain. The location just above the Italian Gardens is superb to see all the resort has to offer. The entertainment at this small hotel is also excellent, a female singer on Friday and a comedian on the Saturday were both enjoyed by all. We will be back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maggie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments, we have a good variety of entertainment throughout the week and at weekends I am glad to read that you enjoyed the acts that performed. It is great to see regular guest’s returning each time we hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    183
    66
    16
    9
See reviews for
48
278
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Located in the South Cliff area just a short walk to a cliff lift down to the Spa and approx. 10 minute walk to town centre bus and train stations. Clean and bright reception and public areas. Our allocated room was on the top (3rd floor) which we prefer. Although rather shabby and in need of some update - this seems to be a regular comment on a lot of rooms within Bay Hotels. Dining room could seat about 100 diners and appeared close to full at most meal times. Carpet and (especially) chairs badly stained. Our table was the only one that had some form of cover and on inspection revealed it to be an old Formica kitchen type compared to the other veneered wood type. Despite marks and stains this cover remained for the duration of our 5 day stay. Food average with a choice that "should" cover all tastes but beware the over baked crusty rolls if you value your teeth - natural or dentures. Drink prices very high - again a common factor with Bay Hotels. Entertainment 3 nights out of 4 (all vocalists) BUT NO BINGO! Overall an enjoyable stay and value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Esky60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments for us. I shall review the matters you have raised with my team but I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope that if you ever back in Scarborough you will come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Just returned from a 4 night break with 'Shearings'. We had a first floor room (111) which was very clean and comfortable. In fact, the whole hotel was spotless. Not much of a view from the window in our room (the car park) but that wasn't a problem. All staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Food was always very hot although some may have found the portions a little small but it was enough for us. Choice of two mains (plus one vegetarian) and a chefs special every evening. Starters and desserts were also very good. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
I am glad to see you enjoyed your break with us and thankyou for leaving such nice comments for us. I'll make sure these get passed on to my staff, I have a great team here and they deserve to get the praise. We look forward to seeing you again soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Visited hotel for the first time receptionist was very effecient and informative.
Booked a Premier Room which was very roomy with all the amenities the only problem was the mattress was not comfortable.
The meals I enjoyed with plenty of variety on the menu to suit all tastes and the service was excellent by a friendly staff who seemed look after their customers.The hotel is well decorated throughout and of a night the entertainment was of a good standard which was enjoyed by all.The hotel is very reasonably priced compared with some other accommodation I have stayed at a more expensive price so it is difficult to undestand some of the adverse comments.I will definetly return.

Room Tip: It is located in quite area we booked a Premier room which was on the first floor ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alanmccluskey194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback for us. I am glad to see you enjoyed your first stay with us and I shall pass on your kind comments to my staff who are always pleased to here that guests have enjoyed their stay. We hope to see you agin in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

i booked a two night stay to celebrate our wedding anniversary staff very pleasant on reception then we saw the room my husband looked mortified but said nothing we went out for a walk we stayed out as long as possible came back had a quick wash the only luxury the bathroom had was a block of soap the room had tatty second hand furniture in it and the bedding did not look clean after a sleepness night my husband lay on top of the bed he would not get in i said i wanted to go home he said he didnt want to say that himself as i had booked it but he had wanted to go when we arrived we went down to breakfast the staff were very nice we ordered gammon ham and egg what we got was a thin slice of boiled ham withan egg on top i went to reception told them i was booked for two nights but was it possible to have a refund has we did not want to stay here any longer i explained why he was helpful and we got the following nights stay refunded we were offered another room i declined i could not face another breakfast there i would never stay in another bay hotel again they dont seem to keep there hotels up to a decent standard they seem to have coach parties and cheap deals ship them in and ship them out not my idea of a seaside hotel

Room Tip: see the room before you pay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank carole b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
I am sorry to you were disappointed with the break you had booked with us to celebrate your wedding anniversary. I have taken on board all the comments you have made and have discussed them with my team with a view to looking at areas we can improve on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stay Friday to Monday at this hotel. Better than I h ad expected. Had a twin room, which had plenty of room. Clean and tidy. The shower was also clean and plenty of hot water. The hotel itself has plenty of places to sit and chat, a TV lounge, seating in the lobby and also an entertainment area and bar area. The meals were nicely presented with a varied menu and the staff were really helpful. Had a really enjoyable stay apart from the Army marching over head from early morning. Sometimes it started at 6 am, but the last morning the marching started at 5 am and continued until we left our room to go for breakfast.. I fail to see how you can walk backwards and forwards across a room so many times and open and close drawers so many times. This is of course nothing to do with the hotel itself.

Room Tip: Try and get on the top floor and then you wont's have the problems that I had with the marching...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
What lovely comments you have left for us, thank you. I am so pleased to see you enjoyed your short break with us apart from the problems from above. What you have suggested is a way to ensure you wouldn't have the same problem again. I hope that if you head back to Scarborough you will come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

A wonderful weekend break excellent value for money very friendly and helpful staff food average everything else first class we hotpe to r eturn.using hotel car park is very useful in busy times well worth parking fee.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 52saint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave us some feedback after your weekend break. I'm glad to see you enjoyed yourselves and we hope we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,869 reviews
1.3 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
895 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
591 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.1 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay New Southlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay New Southlands Hotel

Property: Bay New Southlands Hotel
Address: 15 West Street, Scarborough YO11 2QW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay New Southlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Southlands Hotel is a handsome, intimate property perfectly situated on Scarborough’s South Cliff. From the hotel, the Esplanade, Italian Rose Gardens and South Bay are easily accessible. Scarborough itself retains much of the character of an elegant Victorian seaside town, with handsome architecture and walkways, as well as boasting more modern entertainments and attractions. Further inland, North Yorkshire is an oft overlooked gem of a County offering beautiful scenery and countless attractions both historic and modern. The hotel possesses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Bay New Southlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Southlands Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing