We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Chilly Holiday inside and out”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We visited this hotel with Shearings 18 March - 22 March. Its in a good position and looks quite nice from the outside. However, it was always very chilly downstairs and after meals we couldn't sit down there for long and retired to our room which was plenty warm enough. The meals were very average. The soups were that thin, the only thing I can say about the tomato soup served on the Monday evening was that it was red in colour, there was not flavour at all. The portions were meagre and some of the staff need to improve on people skills. Our room was pleasant enough but the tiny shower was grubby and the whole bathroom could have done with a good clean. The shower cubicle would do better with an outward opening door. We were quite disappointed with this hotel especially after reading some of the reviews. The trips out were good. We feel that this is one hotel we will not be returning to. Would like to return to Scarborough but will choose another hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

I’m sorry to see that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us in March. When the weather is as cold as it has been it is unfortunately quite hard to keep the public areas as warm as the guest rooms due the size and large windows. The other issues you had during your stay I am surprised at,I have discussed these with my team as we do pride ourselves on a having a high level of customer service. I hope your disappointment with your stay with us won’t deter you from travelling with Shearings in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (448)
There are newer reviews for Bay New Southlands Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 448 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013

Booked a 5 day trip with shearings,, First impressions of the hotel was how clean and welcoming it looked. The room was plenty big enough, very clean and warm. Couldn't fault the flavour and quality of the food, just the quantity, but the staff were very helpful and made sure we got more when we asked. The excursions were really enjoyable, just wish the weather could of been a bit warmer as 2 of the days were bitterly cold, All in all we had a very enjoyable stay and would definately stay at the Bay New Southlands again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank helen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

What kind comments you've left for us, thankyou. Unfortunately the cold weather is still with us, but I'm glad to see you didn't let it spoil your stay with us. We all look froward to seeing you agin in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Inclusive weekend break 15/03/2013 First impression on entering the hotel was how clean and bright it looked,.the staff on reception could not have been more helpfull no request was to much trouble nice and pleasant when helping you.We were in room 115 which was very clean and tidy and looked like it had been refurbished recently only problem we had was that it was a little cold at night but a portable heater was in the room which helped slightly.meals were very good with plenty of choices for dinner all the normal cereals etc were available at breakfast plus the normal full english only gripe was how small the portions of bacon were the staff in the dining room were very attentive and did a very good job all in all a very good hotel and will visit again in the future very very good value for the price we paid .

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank david geoffrey m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

What lovely comments you have left for my staff, thankyou, I'll be sure to make sure they see them. I'm pleased to see that the cold weather we have been having didn’t spoil your weekend too much, I think we're all waiting eagerly for spring to arrive. We have some very good value breaks on offer allyear round so I hope we will see you again if you return to Scarborough for another holiday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Booked a long weekend self drive through Shearings/Bay hotels.Got to say couldnt fault the hotel at all.
Excellent, pleasant staff, good choice of meals and superb value for money.
Paid extra for a superior room which was huge and very well worth it.
Would certainly go again and,
without doubt, recommend

Room Tip: Superior rooms are well worth the extra !
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dartsmadstevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thanks for the kind comments you've left for us. Our Superior rooms are very popular and I agree they are worth paying that little but more for. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you come to Scarborough.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed here feb 18th monday to friday, Hotel reception very friendly and helpfull, when booking online tried to get all inclusive but couldnt when booking but girl on desk helped us out with this she was very helpful,Room very basic, no view, portable tv very dated only 3 sides on it, cold room but fortunatley for us there was a spare heater in room. Hotel very clean, Food very good, a good choice for all, all staff were very good especially our waiter David,he never stopped he was very helpful.Entertainment good allthough it was freezing cold in Hotel, Hotel stated that heaters were broken, once they got them fixed it was a lot better.There was no entertainment on the first night as this was Hotels turnover night, pint of lager £3.40 but we were able to buy all inclusive drinks wich allows you 4 tokens per night. 5 mins walk to beach and 10 mins to town. I would advise anyone to pay parking in hotel as it is all permit holders all around Hotel, you would not be able to find anywhere else to park.It cost £5.00 per night to park, i know this is a rip off but you have no choice but to pay.
Would definatley like to go back to this Hotel.

Room Tip: sorry do not no how to get good room.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SunderlandMrsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thankyou for taking the time to leave us your comments. I'm glad we were able to sort out for you to take advantage of the inclusive drinks on your arrival, it really is a great deal. I'll be sure to pass your kind comments on to my team, especially David who will be chuffed to see you've mentioned him. I must apologise for the problems we were having with the heating during your stay - this has now been rectified although we are still getting the odd bit of snow paying us a visit. I hope we will see you again soon in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here 22nd feb for 3 nights, Had a great time hotel was very clean food was good and the staff were really friendly and helpful. Hotel is a good 10 min walk into the town centre and 5 mins to the cliff top tram down to the seafront.Our room was fabulous as we were given a superior room. I am looking forward to returning but when the weather is a bit warmer.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kimmcg2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thanks for leaving your kind thoughts for us. I'm glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and will look froward to seeing you again when the weather warms up:) Scarborough is a lovely town but a bit of sunshine makes such a difference especially if you fancy a paddle in the sea. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Spent 5 days (mon - fri) at the New Southlands. This is our second stay here (Jan 2012 last time). You now have to pay £5 per day to use the car park here, which a few of our fellow guests were not happy about as the website does not make this clear. However, we found free on street parking just 3 streets away further along West Street. This is where the parking zone ends. It was less than a five minute walk if you don't mind carrying your suitcase this short distance. We had a room on the top floor this time - 305, it was fairly small but adequate and the bathroom with shower cubicle was fine. The heating in our room was okay too but I did overhear some other guests saying their rooms were cold. The food was okay and at least they had changed the menu from last year. The hotel is kept really clean as was our bedroom. There were only 4 coat hangers in the wardrobe but I spoke to one of the receptionists who quickly sorted this out. The staff are very friendly and obliging. The location of the hotel is good as it is about a 10/15 minute walk to the top of the main shopping street and railway station or just a few minutes to the seafront.

Room Tip: Whilst the hotel is situated on a main road and both of our stays have been in rooms overlooking Wes...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thankyou for taking the time to leave us your comments following your stay with us. I am so pleased to see that you enjpyed your stay with us, even though the weather wasn't particularly nice that weekend. It's lovely to have returning guests like yourselves coming back to stay with us and I shall pass your comments on to my team, they really do appreciate it when people leave positive comments for them. We will look forward to seeing you again hopefully in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,909 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#9 of 26 in Scarborough
389 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
915 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,258 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay New Southlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay New Southlands Hotel

Address: 15 West Street, Scarborough YO11 2QW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: $114 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay New Southlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Southlands Hotel is a handsome, intimate property perfectly situated on Scarborough’s South Cliff. From the hotel, the Esplanade, Italian Rose Gardens and South Bay are easily accessible. Scarborough itself retains much of the character of an elegant Victorian seaside town, with handsome architecture and walkways, as well as boasting more modern entertainments and attractions. Further inland, North Yorkshire is an oft overlooked gem of a County offering beautiful scenery and countless attractions both historic and modern. The hotel possesses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Bay New Southlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Southlands Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing