We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We were the youngest there - but that didn't spoil anything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“We were the youngest there - but that didn't spoil anything”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Very friendly hotel - staff were all excellent. Rooms comfortable, pleasant and clean. Meals (breakfast and evening meals) were good value. Full of very mature people - we had the only child in the place, but that didn't matter at all. A short distance to the cliff top and the tram down to the beach (or rather uneven path but pretty views on the way down). Reserved parking spots at £5 per day were good value. We didn't stay in for the evening entertainment - there is free parking on the roadway at night in Scarborough so we tended to go out, but there was a pianist and singer if that's your cup of tea! Bar available with friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MillsWalbyoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
What lovely feedback you have left, thank you:) We always enjoy having families stay with us and our locatin is ideal for access to the beach and sea front as well as other local amenities. Being able to reserve a car parking space is proving to be very popular as it means it is one less thing to worry about. Thanks again and hopefully you will come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    175
    65
    16
    8
See reviews for
46
266
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Booked this hotel on a buy two nights get one free offer, was not disappointed, had read some of the reviews and were a little concerned as to what we were letting ourselves in fore.
Arrival was painless, slight hic up on the parking but sorted, booking in easy, very helpful receptionist. We were asked to book in for the evening meal apparently they do every ¼ hour to make sure they have the room, they did ask for us to book in the morning before going off for that evening meal, not a hassle.
Room on the third floor small lift but very useful, had to smile at the announcement for our floor it was as if the lift voice had enough, you have to hear it to appreciate it (or just our view !!)
Room large enough for our use, good sized wardrobe, clean and good sized bathroom with over bath shower. No care package that I had asked for one quick call to the receptionist and it was sorted very quickly. The only noise were heard whilst there was the dam seagulls, but you cant put a stop to them!!!!!!!!!!!
Evening meals a good choice form the standard offering all were three course, we did not bother to upgrade or meals, very happy with the meals, plenty there and plenty of it, only one grumble was that the second nights meal was an all-white meal no colour to it at all, needed a coloured vegetable at least – chef to note.
Bar well, at one point it appeared that it was the blind leading the blind on the 1st night, but they did get it sorted and the prices well what do you expect in a hotel….
Is it an older persons hotel, I would say yes we were certainly not the youngest there but not far off, but do not be put off by that, the town offers plenty to do for younger of age.
Go ahead do stay; we did enjoy our stay….

Room Tip: try the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Glenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
What lovely comments you have left for us, thank you:) and I am glad to see that you decided to try us for yourselves. The three for two offers are always popular as they offer even better value for money. I must be honest I went for a ride in the lift after reading this and had a little smile myself. I always ensure that all feedback left is past on to my team, whom I am very fortunate to have, as we all take pride in out Customer Service, but we will always take on board any issues that are raised and look for ways to improve the service we offer. Thankyou again and we would look to seeing you again if you return to Scarborough for a holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Booked this last minute and were a bit apprehensive having read some negative reviews about this hotel and the restaurant. However, it just goes to show you shouldn't believe all that you read. The hotel was excellent - comfortable rooms, welcoming and friendly staff. The food at dinner was superb - plenty of choice and ample portions, and the dining room was very stylish. We couldn't find fault with anything. Didn't see any of the entertainment, so can't comment there, but the hotel is near enough to walk into town, if you don't fancy what's on offer. Some people just like to complain. We have been on a number of Shearings hotel tours - this was one of the best.

Room Tip: Can always upgrade to Premier or Superior room, but ours was fine - clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuffolkMorag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
What lovely comments you have taken the time to leave for us, thank you. I am so pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will be sure to pass your feedback on to my team, it really means a lot to them:) We look forward to maybe seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rushden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We had a 4 night break at The New Southlands Hotel and found the Hotel to be first class, the first impression of the Hotel on arrival was very welcoming. The room was very clean and comfortable with all mod cons. The food was very good and ample for an average person, the restraunt staff were brilliant , nothing being too much trouble.The bar was very well stocked with a good selection of "single malts". Overall we found it very good value for money and wouldn't hesitate to book again. The location of the Hotel was very good, however its very hilly,so we would recomend using the buses to get into town, if like us, you're of "the older generation".

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eddie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thanks for the lovely feedback you have left for us. Myself and my team are alway so happy to know that guests have enjoyed their stay with us, as we do take pride in our Customer Service. We are fortunate that we have a great bus service for anyone wanting to get to the town centre, even if it's only to get back up the hill. We all look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We've just returned from our first family holiday where we stayed at the new southlands. The hotel was clean, staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was spacious (which is helpful when you have a 10 month old). The food was lovely. Will be going again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank auggiesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thanks for the comments you have left for us. It is always a pleasure to welcome families in the hotel and we hope that you will come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burnley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed for a 4 night beak and found this hotel is for the elderly. The staff were very pleasant and helpful we upgraded to a superior room and are glad we did, even though this however made the cost a lot higher. The restaurant lets this hotel down, the food portions are more fitting a child on one occassion my husband was served cheesecake still frozen the potatoes and vegetables often hard and lumpy it did state on sample menu cheese + biscuits as a choice for dessert but this was only available on the a la carte menu for which there was an extra charge. As for the entertainment which is non existant - what was available was aimed at people at least over 70years, there was a wonderful guitarist one evening who then spent half the night doing George Formby impressions, this hotel is very quiet and away from any amenities, so being a captive audience the entertainment needs to be improved

Room Tip: I would recommend an upgrade when choosing your room although the extra cost is quite pricey
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank she123701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
I am sorry to see to you were disappointed with your stay with us. We changed our menus at the beginning of July, as a way to offer a better overall choice and variety for our guests. It was an oversight on our part that the old menu had not been removed and I apologise for any confusion this may have caused. We do appreciate all comments that are left and I have gone through the issues you have raised with my team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Just returned from a Shearings 5 day break to Scarborough staying at the New Southlands Hotel. We found the hotel very welcoming .The staff were pleasant and helpful.The rooms clean and comfortable, There was a good selection of food at breakfast and we found the evening meals were adequate portions with a good choice menu.So dont be put off by negative reviews.The hotel is in a good location for the town, Spa centre and beach. We hope to come back very soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dellis116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for the lovely comments you have left for us. We do take pride in our customer service and my staff always enjoy seeing positive feedback being left for them, which I will be suire to pass on to them. We are in an ideal spot for the Spa Theatre and the South Cliff as well as being within easy walking distance from the town centre. We hope that if you return to Scarborough you will come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,741 reviews
1.3 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.5 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay New Southlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay New Southlands Hotel

Property: Bay New Southlands Hotel
Address: 15 West Street, Scarborough YO11 2QW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay New Southlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Southlands Hotel is a handsome, intimate property perfectly situated on Scarborough’s South Cliff. From the hotel, the Esplanade, Italian Rose Gardens and South Bay are easily accessible. Scarborough itself retains much of the character of an elegant Victorian seaside town, with handsome architecture and walkways, as well as boasting more modern entertainments and attractions. Further inland, North Yorkshire is an oft overlooked gem of a County offering beautiful scenery and countless attractions both historic and modern. The hotel possesses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Bay New Southlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Southlands Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing