We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good time had by all !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2011

we had an enjoyable five day break here and really enjoyed it ! .hotel was clean food good and staff all friendly and helpfull .we upgraded to a better room which is always a good idea in a coast and country hotel and it was lovely .

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hairdressertina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2011

It’s so pleasing to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and I will pass them on to my team. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the New Southlands Hotel or to one of our other Coast and Country Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

438 - 444 of 470 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2011

As the review title says , what you cannot see was absolutely filthy, eg under the bed of our room No 121 was at least a years worth of dust including half eaten crisp packet , broken glasses, behind the dressing table was a box of previous guests medication, with warning that it was dangerous to children. Windows so dirty that you could write MUCK on them, drain smells in the bathroom. The furniture was from the 1970s.
The food was ok, but we did not see in the kitchen, restaurant staff were friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SilsdenSparkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2011

I am very sorry that you were so disappointed with your bedroom and I am concerned about the problems you encountered. These really are not the sort of experiences we want our guests to have. I hope you will accept my apologies and my assurances that I will investigate and take action where necessary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

Myself and my partner stayed at the hotel on a special offer 3 day b&b break. We were very impressed. We had our room upgraded to a "Superior Room" which was really comfortable, clean and modern. All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, especially the reception staff, Pam, Lois and the Manager Ruth. Location ideal for walking into Scarborough. We had a lovely time and would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank julie-antonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2011

Thank you for your wonderful comments and for taking the time and trouble to provide such an excellent review- I will pass them on to my team. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your weekend break with us and hope that we will welcome you back to stay at the New Southlands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2011

We booked with coast and country for a four day break paid extra for an upgrade and were delighted with our room .Room had four poster bed and all mod cons menu was superb nbothing was too much for any of the staff.The only fault was the lack of entertainment.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tansy36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2011

Thank you for your lovely comments. I have a fantastic team at the hotel and they all work hard to ensure our guests enjoy all aspects of their holiday. Unfortunately we do only have entertainment on some evenings, but I hope you enjoyed the evenings that there was entertainment on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2011

This hotel has been refurbished with very pleasant public rooms, modern bedrooms and friendly staff. Its a great pity that some of the little things were not up to scratch. Our bedroom was very comfortable with a bright and airy bathroom. It was impossible to see in the wardrobe or to read except in bed due to the lack of lights and the dullness of energy saving light bulbs. A shelf to put toiletries on in the bathroom would also help, along with a towel rail big enough to hang the towels on.
The breakfasts are good, though all the toast was cold, and none of the eggs were soft. Some of the main course dishes in the evening were very good, but all the vegetables were frozen and the special menu for New Years Eve was a great disappointment . You had to choose between a fish course and a sorbet, and the cheese and biscuits were not offered. We stayed for three nights and had to ask for cups to serve ourselves to coffee on all three nights. It was also impossible to find seats together in the lounge for the evenings entertainment........why was the restaurant not used? The so called administrative fees are a con, as you are charged a per capita fee, NOT a per transaction fee!! All in all, could do much better with a little more effort,, especially on the part of the Maitre d'Hotel

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KateDriffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2010

The single supplement for a single "cupboard" was a disgrace,the bathroom minute,and smelt of sewers,the blanket on the bed needed throwing out.Hotel refurbed from the bothom upwards ,only didnt reach the bedrooms.Mealtimes were a bit chaotic,but food wasnt bad.Poor value for money.Wake up Shearings.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank llyndal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2010

The food was the worst that we have ever experienced, either in a restaurant or hotel
The bedrooms wer poorly cleaned and need updating, ie.new matress, sash window frame needs cleaning and decorating.
Bahroom shower mat was that grotty we did not use it. Silicone grouting in the shower peeling and needs replacing.
On the positive side the staff in the dining room and bar were efficient and attentive.
The entertainment on the Thursday night was the best part of a disappointing stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank maggieed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
5,007 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
605 reviews
1.3 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,546 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
666 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#15 of 26 in Scarborough
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay New Southlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay New Southlands Hotel

Address: 15 West Street, Scarborough YO11 2QW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: $96 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay New Southlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Southlands Hotel is a handsome, intimate property perfectly situated on Scarborough’s South Cliff. From the hotel, the Esplanade, Italian Rose Gardens and South Bay are easily accessible. Scarborough itself retains much of the character of an elegant Victorian seaside town, with handsome architecture and walkways, as well as boasting more modern entertainments and attractions. Further inland, North Yorkshire is an oft overlooked gem of a County offering beautiful scenery and countless attractions both historic and modern. The hotel possesses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Bay New Southlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Southlands Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing