We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were very impressed by the decor, cleanliness and excellent food. Great value for money - we will come back”
Review of Lonsdale Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lonsdale Villa
Ranked #54 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We only stayed for two nights, and weren't able not take advantage of the Bar Room, which was very welcoming and served a wide range of reasonably priced drinks.
As we didn't book early enough, the only room available was a "small double" which we were apprehensive about. However, we needn't have been, as the room was larger than we expected, with an ensuite, tea/coffee making facilities, and the room was decorated to an excellent standard. We really enjoyed our stay and will recommend this Guest House to all our friends. We will definitely come back! PS If you want to eat out in this area, there are some very good restaurants, but remember to book a table first as they are very popular.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marilyn n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 97 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2011

It's difficult to add anything new to the reviews already submitted - except to say that we agree wholeheartedly with all of them. What Grant and Jackie provide is really excellent - the rooms so bright and clean, the breakfasts first-class, the friendly help so willingly given. The fact that so many guests return again and again speaks for itself.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephenpacitti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

A really good find in Scarborough. Excellent rooms, spotlessly clean and fresh, with very good well-cooked breakfast. Brilliant location - quiet but a lovely walk along South Cliff into the main part of town. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Unrestricted parking outside. Comfy guest lounge .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2010

Have just returned from my 5th visit to this hotel and had a wonderful short break as usual. The location of the hotel is perfect- close to the city centre, in a quiet area not far from the cliffs overlooking south bay.
All the rooms are very modern and exceptionally clean and decorated to a high standard. The hosts, Jackie and Grant, are very relaxed and friendly, and the breakfast is superb.
Many thanks Jackie and Grant, a wonderful, relaxing stay as usual.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank berniecLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2010

We stay at the Lonsdale every year and would not go any where else in Scarborough. Jackie and Grant are always very friendly and helpful and as usual we received great service. The rooms are immaculate, very clean and well decorated with modern furniture and smell wonderful and fresh as do the towels!! Quiet location and only short walk to town where we have a meal and bottle of wine! I have recommended to all my family and friends will be back next year without fail. Thankyou.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carmeljem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

The hotel was a lovely place to stay, The hosts were friendly and helpful with suggesting nice places to eat. The room was spacious with a nice bath and shower. Full english breakfast was nice with plenty of choice. Would stay here again when visiting scarborough.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank horseheadSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

a lovely place to stay, jackie and grant made us very welcome. the breakfasts were good, plenty of food. the rooms were nice and comfortable and very spacious. the bar was cosy and jackie and grant were lovely hosts. we will be going back again . would recommend the hotel to anyone who wanted a holiday in scarborough.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank assistant29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,287 reviews
0.2 mi away
Weston Hotel
Weston Hotel
#2 of 26 in Scarborough
544 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#57 of 183 in Scarborough
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Waves
The Waves
#11 of 183 in Scarborough
127 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cordelia
The Cordelia
#20 of 183 in Scarborough
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
No. 17 West Street
No. 17 West Street
#34 of 183 in Scarborough
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lonsdale Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lonsdale Villa

Address: Lonsdale Road, Scarborough YO11 2QY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Hotel Class:4 star — Lonsdale Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lonsdale Villa is situated in the picturesque South Cliff area of Scarborough. We are ideally situated for The Spa Conference and Entertainment Complex, golf, Olivers Mount, Stephen Joseph Theatre, Italian Gardens and University. Scarborough town centre, the Harbour, University and other attractions are within easy walking distance. We are two minutes walk to The Esplanade. The local bus passes the Guest House and we are only 5 minutes walk to Filey Road bus stops which serve places further afield. Unrestricted street parking in a disc free zone. We have 10 en-suite rooms including 3 singles and a ground floor double. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing