We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Modern”
Review of Selomar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Selomar Hotel
Ranked #29 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
scarborough
1 review
“Friendly and Modern”
Reviewed July 14, 2009

Stayed for one night at the hotel and was very pleased. The staff were very friendly and the views from the top floor room outstanding. The breakfasts were good value for money and the rooms very comfortable and clean. Would recommend this hotel to anyone, would definately go back again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HOLIDAY123456789_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    42
    15
    4
    0
See reviews for
159
182
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
peterborough
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2009

We visit with a school group and comment from the children's evaluations are:
"Eating all the yummy foods the Selomar had to offer."
"The great views from the bedroom windows."
"Ken's entertainment and tiddlywinks competition was amazing!"
The staff are extremely well treated and fed by all hotel staff, nothing was too much trouble. We cannot fault the accommodation, food and welcome and will continue to visit with our children for as long as we can.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aab043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2009

We have stayed in various hotels and guest houses in this part of Scarborough, and have left reviews on this site.
This was our first time at the Selomar, and it was fine. Very typical of the hotels on Blenheim Terrace and Queens Parade - tall, lots of steps everywhere, narrower the higher you climb. On this occasion, we were on the top floor which was not at all easy, especially for my wife. If we stay again, we will insist on a low floor.
Hotel is clean throughout, service is good, facilities average, and breakfast was well-cooked, if limited on choice. As always, parking is very difficult.
I cannot understand why some hotel owners don't try to add a bit of zip to what's on offer. After all, with so many establishments offering the same standard and vying for the same customers, it wouldn't take much for a place like this to add a few extras to stand out from the crowd. For example, free wifi would be appreciated, and this would be at zero cost to the Selomar, as there is already a signal available throughout the place. Just remove the password and you have a selling point over the others. Some fresh fruit at breakfast, yoghurt and grapefruit, and a better make of orange juice would also make a difference at little cost. Surprised fried bread was not on the menu.
Would we stay again? Yes, we would, but NOT the top floor! Having said that, we would be equally happy to stay at many others in this area. The Selomar could be outstanding with just a few tweaks!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank revtel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2009

We stayed for a weekend. We were a little taken aback at being presented with the bill before we'd even managed to put our cases down. The room was clean and comfortable, but the bathroom door catch was faulty and when I went to fill the kettle the first morning, it jammed and I was stuck. We were assured that this hadn't happened before, but the jemmy marks on the door suggested otherwise. A discount on our bill, the offer of a free drink, or even a simple apology would have been nice, but none of these was forthcoming.
The breakfasts were very good and our waitress was lovely, friendly and helpful. They don't take debit or credit cards and didn't seem particularly eager to take a cheque.
With the wealth of similar accommodation available in Scarborough, we won't choose this B&B again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJSW09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPallister
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2009

I recently stayed at the Selomar Hotel in Scarborough and found it to be a pleasant and charming establishment that offers excellent value for money. The Hotel itself was well presented and very clean, the staff where accommodating and breakfast was served promptly and there was a varied choice of food to choose from. I have experienced many 'not so nice' Hotels in the past but enjoyed my experience at this Hotel and would definitely return, I would certainly recommend anyone visiting Scarborough to stay there.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPallister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire UK
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2009

Stayed at this hotel a few times now both on business and pleasure with my family . I certainly was shocked to read another trip advisers notes on this hotel , I was recommended to this hotel , by a work collegue, and went with family before my now regular business trips . It certainly is well decorated ...... maybe not to everyones taste , but it is clean , friendly , comfortable . I would recommend this hotel to many , and i do .

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebiYorkshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2009

Year 5 and three adults arrived at the Selomar Hotel, which we had taken over for our 5 day stay. We were welcomed and shown our rooms, all en suite much to the children's delight, and then left to recover from our long journey until the evening meal. The meals were superb with a good selection to choose from. The location was stunning as the majority of the rooms overlooked the North Bay and we were within walking distance of all of the places we wished to visit in Scarborough. When asked the children all agreed that the food, rooms and location were all fantastic and no-one could think of a negative thing to say about their stay!

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petereden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.0 mi away
Rockside Hotel
Rockside Hotel
#13 of 182 in Scarborough
416 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Baia Hotel
La Baia Hotel
#6 of 182 in Scarborough
542 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Helaina
The Helaina
#11 of 182 in Scarborough
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#37 of 182 in Scarborough
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Derwent House Hotel
Derwent House Hotel
#43 of 182 in Scarborough
242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
#19 of 182 in Scarborough
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selomar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selomar Hotel

Property: Selomar Hotel
Address: 23 Blenheim Terrace Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Selomar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Selomar has been awarded 4 Star accommodation by the English Tourism Council and has received the prestigious Guild of Master Caterer's Award being one of only two hotels in Scarborough to receive this honour. Our hotel is situated in Scarborough's picturesque North Bay and commands some excellent sea views and is just a stones throw away from the historic Scarborough Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Selomar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing