We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice B&B”
Review of Selomar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Selomar Hotel
Ranked #28 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice B&B”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Great friendly service, nice clean rooms. Breakfast choice is well thought out, I can recommend the full English. Honesty bar well stocked. Staff very efficient and well mannered.
Location is perfect, 2 minutes walk from The Scarborough Arms for good pub grub, & just a few more minutes from town.
I will have to pay a second visit sometime soon.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VickersA38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    42
    15
    4
    0
See reviews for
159
182
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed at the Selomar for the weekend at the beginning of July and we were so happy to have picked such a lovely cosy hotel. We stayed on the top floor in room 9 which was perfect for a family of 4, it was exceptionally clean and presentable. The hosts Ken and Irene were really lovely and so to were the staff who served breakfast, there was a great selection of cereals, yoghurts and food to choose from. It has a beautiful view of the bay and is minutes walk to all local shops. Next time we visit flamingo land or Scarborough we'll know exactly where to choose to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauline b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

another great stay me and my 3 children love staying at the selomar.irene and ken make you very welcomeand make your stay great. the staff are very friendly too. the rooms and hotel is very clean the breakfast is tops.thanks irene and ken for making our holiday first class see you both next year for another great holiday.if you dont stay at the selomar you are missing out of a great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulbaxter1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We went for a short midweek three day break at the Selomar in July. The hotel is clean and nicely presented, our room had great views of the bay and the en suite bathroom compares to some of the big hotels I've stayed in. The owners, Irene and Ken were friendly and extremely helpful as were the rest of the hotel staff. Breakfast was included and was delicious. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is a lovely little place. Very easy to find. Five minute walk down to the beach. Ten minute walk to the park. Ten minute walk to the south beach.

My wife and I stayed in a small double room with a Sea View which cost £70. The view was amazing. The staff are lovely. Some nice touches such as an 'honesty' bar which although we didn't use we thought was lovely.

The land lady is very friendly as are her staff.

This is just a lovely place to stay and I would highly recommend it to anybody.

Room Tip: We had the room with the sea view. The room was small and only suitable for two adults but the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We paid £70 for a small double with a sea view. The B and B is located a short but steep distance to/from the North end of the beach. Peasholme Park is only a 10 / 15 min walk with a boating lake and crazy golf.

We stopped begging of July so the parking wasn't an issue. It was a little busy but we got parked each time more or less in front of the B and B. On check in you are presented with a parking disc free of charge. However during peak times/ summer holidays it may get a little tricky finding a space.

The B and B was clean, the room was small but adequate. The service at breakfast was very attentive. The cooked breakfast itself was decent enough with fresh fruit and cereal on offer too. The decor throughout was tasteful and in a decent state of repair. There was a lounge area with an honesty bar overlooking the sea.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlieCulsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My wife and I have just returned to Durham having stayed at The Selomar on Friday and Saturday night. When we arrived on Friday we were in a hurry as we were going to see The Script in Bridlington, Ken was waiting for us and he had kept me a parking space outside the hotel, this really helped as parking is a nightmare around there, he also gave me a permit Free of charge!! We stayed in room 9 which is a nice sized room with a double bed and bunk beds. I had breakfast the next morning, there was a variety of cereals, yoghurt, fruit and an amazing home cooked full English! The 2 waitresses were very pleasant and really looked after me. This process was repeated on Saturday and the service was equally excellent!! All in all this is an excellent B&B run by a lovely couple who go the extra mile to make your stay the very best it can be!! Thanks xx

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Durhamscouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.0 mi away
Rockside Hotel
Rockside Hotel
#14 of 182 in Scarborough
416 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Baia Hotel
La Baia Hotel
#6 of 182 in Scarborough
541 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Helaina
The Helaina
#10 of 182 in Scarborough
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#37 of 182 in Scarborough
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Derwent House Hotel
Derwent House Hotel
#43 of 182 in Scarborough
242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
#21 of 182 in Scarborough
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selomar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selomar Hotel

Property: Selomar Hotel
Address: 23 Blenheim Terrace Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Selomar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Selomar has been awarded 4 Star accommodation by the English Tourism Council and has received the prestigious Guild of Master Caterer's Award being one of only two hotels in Scarborough to receive this honour. Our hotel is situated in Scarborough's picturesque North Bay and commands some excellent sea views and is just a stones throw away from the historic Scarborough Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Selomar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing