We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really great B & B”
Review of Selomar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Selomar Hotel
Ranked #26 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A really great B & B”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Have stayed here twice now in Summer with our two young children and would highly recommend this B & B to other families. Rooms are extremely clean and comfortable with recently refurbished en suite bathrooms (which feel quite luxurious!). The breakfasts are SUPERB, with lots of choice, excellent service and beautiful fresh ingredients (bacon and sausage in particular is real butchers' fayre!). You will not go hungry! Ken and Irene are really welcoming and friendly, as are all the staff, and the little bar downstairs is lovely for a drink before bed (and very child friendly). The location is fantastic, with wonderful sea views to the front and only a 10 minute walk to North Bay attractions (and beach) and a 15-20 minute walk to South Bay. Will definitely stay here again (even more refurbishment is planned for next year, apparently!).

Room Tip: Ask for sea view is it's available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    43
    14
    4
    0
See reviews for
157
179
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rossington, null, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Selomar, the hotel was spotless and the breakfast was excellent, Ken and Irene really looked after us, nothing was too much trouble and they are really friendly people, our room had a sea view, which was great, all the staff were really friendly and made you feel very welcome. Thank you for a lovely holiday. John and Jan Doncaster

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lothian
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My husband and 2 children stayed here for 2 nights. Irene and Ken were both very friendly. Kids were made very welcome. Our room & bathroom were very clean and beds comfortable, Breakfast was lovely and the waiting staff were very friendly. We cannot fault anything about our stay at the Selomar Great location for the North Bay and only a 10 minute walk into the town. Will return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The Selomar's rooms are spacious and very clean and comfortable with our room having a perfect view. Ken and Irene are excellent hosts, very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Staff were also very helpful and attentive. Would definitely stay there again if we went back to Scarborough.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nishnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

we have just spent two nights in this lovely little hotel in scarborough, it was the cleanest hotel we have ever stayed in, the breakfast was out of this world. The hotel owners were very helpful and a joy to deal with.
Our room was at the back of the hotel but we still had a nice view of the resorts south beach area. The double bed was very comfortable and the en-suite fully tiled bathroom was spotless.
We spent an hour in the bar having a drink with Ken (one of the owners) he was a perfect host.
His partner Irene greeted me when we booked in, she was very pleasant.

The only downside to our stay was the lack of parking, the hotel has no car park of its own so you have to park on the street in front, the hotel provides you with a parking permit for the duration of your stay. We couldn't go out in our car too much as we couldn't guarantee being able to park outside the hotel when we returned, obviously this is beyond the hotels control, as such we could not blame the hotel for this.

We would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel to anyone and we will definitely be staying again in the near future, if they will have us.

the location of the hotel couldn't be better being close to all scarboroughs amenities, with great local pubs (The Scarborough Arms has a really nice pint of Theakstons).

Room Tip: we stayed in room 6 which is at the back of the hotel, i am sure Ken and Irene will try their best t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Selomar & once again it was a fantastic visit. This was our 2nd stay & this time we recommended it to friends & they came along too with their family.We were in room 8 with breathtaking views over the north bay. The rooms are immaculately clean, the bedlinen & towels very fresh. Ken is a brilliant host in the bar & made us feel like we had known him forever. Breakfast was once again beautiful & the staff will adapt the menu to suit. Nothing is too much trouble for the girls & they always have a smile for you no matter how busy they are. From the maids to the hotel owners you are made to feel welcome by everyone at this hotel & we can't wait to return next year..........P.S hope Ken's leg is better soon : ( x

Room Tip: Room 8 fantastic views over the North Bay & of the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princessfluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2012

My daughter and I spent 3 nights here and had a great time. All the staff were friendly and extremely helpful. Breakfast was delicious, our room was very comfortable and clean. The location is excellent with North Bay on the doorstep and South Bay is within easy reach via a walk through town. If you need to buy body boards or beach stuff I recommend walking into town to all the seafront shops as we got stung paying £12 for a body board at Dexter's on North Bay when we could have got one for £4 elsewhere. I recommend Waves cafe on North Bay for lunch - they only take cash and there's a free ATM in the Nisa Local shop a few doors along. We had a lovely dinner at the Oasis cafe on the seafront at North Bay - amazing views from the restaurant upstairs, great value and a lovely waitress. Wednesday night is bike night - we loved watching all the motorbikes but if that isn't your thing then go on another night. Beach huts are £30 per day - the office is near the Nisa shop. Miniature railway was fun but after queuing for half an hour for the Sea Life centre we gave up. Peasholm Park is still brilliant and there is an indoor pool opposite which was a bit skanky in the changing rooms to be honest but not much different to other council run pools. All in all it is a great place to stay and we are coming back in a couple of weeks.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.0 mi away
Rockside Hotel
Rockside Hotel
#13 of 183 in Scarborough
396 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Baia Hotel
La Baia Hotel
#6 of 183 in Scarborough
538 reviews
0.1 mi away
Derwent House Hotel
Derwent House Hotel
#44 of 183 in Scarborough
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Helaina
The Helaina
#10 of 183 in Scarborough
481 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
#25 of 183 in Scarborough
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Greno Guesthouse
Greno Guesthouse
#41 of 183 in Scarborough
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selomar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selomar Hotel

Property: Selomar Hotel
Address: 23 Blenheim Terrace Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Selomar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Selomar has been awarded 4 Star accommodation by the English Tourism Council and has received the prestigious Guild of Master Caterer's Award being one of only two hotels in Scarborough to receive this honour. Our hotel is situated in Scarborough's picturesque North Bay and commands some excellent sea views and is just a stones throw away from the historic Scarborough Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Selomar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing