We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place”
Review of Tricolos

Tricolos
Ranked #29 of 355 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $29
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Great place to eat, it's always clean and friendly. The food is great and very reasonable. It's very spacious and a pleasant atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flannabells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnny150, Owner at Tricolos, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Tricolos and we are glad you enjoyed your visit. your comments are much appreciated by the team and we look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    433
    219
    106
    57
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“ok”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

garlic bread with tomato was the highlight of the meal , i had chicken pasta , cant think what it was called cause i want to forget it , it was dry bland and luke warm , i asked if it had sauce with it to which a stroppy waitress replied that it said in the menu what it was , it certainly didnt say dry and bland !!! i was offered a sauce as i couldnt have another meal because the kitchen was closing .. 5 mins later a sauce appeared but by then my pasta was stone cold so , i said i didnt want it .. i asked for the bill and noticed they still tried to charge me for the pasta dish that i didnt eat .. i pointed this out to the manager which they refunded ... would i recommend going here probably not . but each to their own .. prices were fair but i suppose you get what you pay for

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dannyp74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnny150, Manager at Tricolos, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
I have read your review and can only apologise for the poor quality of the main course, your server should have had this situation sorted straight away. The team at Tricolos take customer service very seriously and your enjoyment is their priority. If you would like to furnish me with an address then we will send a voucher for a complimentary carafe of wine , should you wish to try us again in the future. Yours John Senior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bingley west yorks
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Food and service fantastic”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We visited for the early bird menue value for money was brillant food was exellent and the staff were very friendley. Atmosphere was very cosy and relaxing. Would definately visit again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LynandBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnny150, Manager at Tricolos, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Tricolos and we are glad you enjoyed your visit. your comments are much appreciated by the team and we look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Level Contributor
281 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“AVERAGE ITALIAN RESTAURANT”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Over the years we have been here on many occasions and the restaurant has remained pretty much the same. The décor may be a bit dated but I actually feel there is a good ambience in the restaurant when busyish. Unfortunately we went when it was quiet and there was no atmosphere although the background music was sixties and this was lovely. There were only two people serving and they seemed to be rushed but the service was not too bad. The most important thing is the food. We were all very happy with our starters, two of us had chicken/chorizo kebabs which were great. The main courses were good but average. My calzone was not so brilliant. I have had them before but they seem to come served in degrees of quality. My companions enjoyed their mains. We had two bottles of wine which were nicely chilled. However, my wine glass had remnants of lipstick o and was quite off-putting. Would recommend the restaurant but some times the service can be bad and at other times brilliant!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireFellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnny150, Owner at Tricolos, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review Tricolos and we are sorry not to have met your expectations on this occasion. I have noted you comments and passed them to the team and I do hope that you will try us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
286 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Good in parts”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We went for an "early bird" deal on a Wednesday night. There were quite a few diners making for a nice family atmosphere.
We had starters of potato skins and garlic bread with caramelised onions. The garlic bread was excellent, but the potato skins distinctly average. My partner had an excellent chicken breast wrapped in ham for her main course. I had a dish of Penne Piccante which was well below average, tasting just like a mixture of penne pasta, tomato puree, onions and almost tasteless strips of pepperoni. The coffee to follow was very good.
So to sum up, good in parts.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnny150, Owner at Tricolos, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
I have read your review and can only apologise for the poor quality of your pasta main course and your comments have been passed to the kitchen . I hope that you might try us again in the future . Your John Senior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tricolos also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Tricolos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing