We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Pub Meal on Seafront” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The King Richard III Restaurant

The King Richard III Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 353 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Traditional Licensed British Restaurant and Bar serving good food and a wide selection of drinks all day. Indoor seating for 115, outside seating for 50, overlooking the harbour. Our menu is extensive and families are welcome; we have baby changing facilities in both the men's and ladies toilets and highchairs are available.
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
391 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Good Pub Meal on Seafront”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Very busy holiday weekend in Scarborough when we called into this Pub/Restaurant for a lunch.
Our order was taken very speedily and our Fish and Chips were serviced very promptly.
The good old British favourite of fish and chips well cooked and swiftly served to perfection.
Two pints of ale to finish and with a grand view of the sea and prom from our table what a great way to have Sunday lunch.
Highly recommended as a lunch time favourite if you are in Scarborough.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vuepoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    111
    24
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Quick service, straight forward pub grub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Nice selection on Menu. Service was friendly and efficient. Food arrive quickly, was nice and hot. Good size portions. No complaints at all. Straight forward pub grub

Helpful?
Thank Paul-Lincoln-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“beware if you veggie and eat here!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

I am vegetarian and saw that on the board was a " veggie special" which was vegetable lasagne chips and I think salad. I asked what oil the chips where cooked in beef dripping. Thus making the dish not veggie. Also on the menu was a vegetarian burger when I asked how they cooked the burger was told it goes in the fryer in beef dripping. Think this should be clarified on menu if something is described as vegetarian it should be! It should not be up to the customer to ask. Glad I did ask. Ended up eating a over priced jacket potato. Doubt I will visit again. Have to ask to many questions re misleading food descriptions. On plus side staff and service very good.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Somewhere to rely on :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Whenever we visit here for something to eat or drink, whether it is just me and my my partner or even for a family meal, we love the place.
It can get a bit noisy as it seems to be popular with large families with many kids who seem to love nothing more than the shout/scream! but when they are not there it is a great place, especially when it isn't so busy.
A nice place to relax and we have always had spot on food and drinks, never a complaint :)

Whenever we go with anyone for a meal we suggest Richard III :)

A great place that we will continue to go to.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcudbright, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“good value food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

during our weeks holiday were there twice the first sat outside the second inside we had fish & chips & then the next time chicken & chips but had plenty of choice & found one course more than filling & was delighted to find they had dark fruit cidar on draught you always know a place is good when its really busy so well done

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank qotsfc43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The King Richard III Restaurant also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to The King Richard III Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing