We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fish and chips”
Review of Golden Grid

Golden Grid
Ranked #55 of 357 Restaurants in Scarborough
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fish and chips”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

had a great day at scarborough the children had a fantastic day we finished our day out off goining to the golden grid for our tea all the adults in our party had the all in offer which is fish and chips bread and butter and a pot of tea for 9.99 two of the children shared a childs portion of fish and chips ( the childs portion was a good size that there was plenty for our two small children to share it ) my son is such a fussy eater i asked the waiter if we could just have two slices of buttered toast for him and it was no problem at all for him to have the toast all in all i found the food very tasty reasonably priced and the waiter was very polite and very helpful and attentive a pleasant experience and value for money will call again 10 out of 10 across the board

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kev S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    407
    292
    140
    96
    99
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Pricey with Good”
Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

Dined here for 4 people. The food was decent but not great 7/10.

Service was quick and very nice staff but it is very Pricey. 9.50 for steak pie. 13.95 for dressed crab salad and 12.99 for steak and chips.

Would go again... But maybe try another place.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matthew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great fish pie!”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

We visited Scarborough with little expectation of a good meal on the seafront at South Beach, but found this gem of a place. We ate upstairs and had a lovely view across the harbour. The service was very good and the fish pie was delicious. We felt it was like home cooking.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Coming back again and again”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Every commercial business's dream is to get clients to return again and again. Golden Grid has achieved that with me. Every visit to Scarborough we return again and again. Is it the decor, authentic features, atmosphere, fresh well cooked ingredients, location? Yes gave all these 10 out of 10. However, above all this is the staff. Customer care personified. Every time, spot on. Very very good

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Could be better”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

Could have been better
Fish was quite tasteless chips were mediocre service was ok the waiter was way over the top
Have been a few times now
Think we were hoping it had maybe improved but sadly not.

Helpful?
2 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Grid also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Golden Grid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing