We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice evening and well worth a visit”
Review of Gianni's

Gianni's
Ranked #12 of 358 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really nice evening and well worth a visit”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

First visit to Scarborough and wanted to try an Italian restaurant. Having looked at previous reviews our first choice was fully booked. This restaurant wasn't far from our b&b and we were lucky to get a table. We had a warm welcome. It is tastefully decorated and although busy the service was prompt but unhurried. I had the pasta and my husband had a pizza-both dishes were very tasty. I succumbed to the limoncello cheesecake which was very nice and just the right size portion. Well worth trying and we will re visit when we return next year.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jlm124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    476
    177
    60
    31
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
325 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Excellent cuisine. Great evening”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We were recommended here by our hotel and we were not disappointed. The restaurant was full and they immediately opened the upper floor for us and some other couples. The food was excellent, the atmosphere great and the service absolutely fine.
I can recommend this place highly

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Davancar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Was in Scarborough with my son and we dropped in to Gianni's about 8PM with no booking. They cold not have been more accommodating and went out of there way to find us a table. The staff were very friendly and the food was excellent. Have looked at the mixed reviews on this site but we definitely dined on a good night and I would definitely go back to this restaurant when next in Scarborough

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretna Green, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Like being in Italy”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Wonderful restaurant with an Italian owner who is around and taking great pride in his welcoming business. The food is second to none, and lots of it too. It is simply served, with smiling faces, and it doesn't seem to matter how busy they are, they still treat you as if you are the only person in the place who matters to them. Even during their incredible 'Happy Hour' when they get very busy, there is always time for a pleasantry - unlike many places these days where the busier the place the less happy the experience. Here, where I have been many times before, it is always happy and after a splendid meal you leave knowing that your patronage meant something to the owner and staff. Only a short walk from the town centre, it usually is filled with 'locals' which must surely be one of the best recommendations anywhere can have.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Italian !”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Giannis had been recommended and did not disappoint.. We all had excellent meals and even my 82 year old mum in law loved it !! I made additions to my meal without problem and the service was excellent and definitely not overpriced- four adults -main meal and desserts and a bottle of wine and coffees - £70 !! will be returning....

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gianni's also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Gianni's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing