We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Massive portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Foxhound Inn

Foxhound Inn
Ranked #53 of 352 Restaurants in Scarborough
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
York, UK
Level Contributor
270 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Massive portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

A wide ranging menu of pub favourites, served cheerfully and well prepared. What makes this pub stand out is the size of the main courses which are colossal. I am told I have done 164 reviews and this is without doubt the biggest main course I have seen I had steak and ale pie, chips, and no less than 6 vegetables including battered (yes battered) Parsnips.

Can't comment on the piddings!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flipper2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    121
    42
    19
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Try it.....but bring your appetite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Treble whammy....great food...great prices....and massive portions!
Win, win, win!
We'll be back....again, and again

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KeithnPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Big appetites will love it! Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

We regularly visit here with our children and have yet to have a poor meal.
Food is good and menu plentiful, hubby likes the real ale's which they promote. Portions are big so make sure you take your appetite.
Don't normally have to book but weekends are very busy so it's probably advisable.
Normally there is a wait depending on how busy they are, but you are warned about this.

Only downside, no wifi to keep the kids from moaning constantly while you are waiting for your food.

Helpful?
Thank CaptainL25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

Our holiday stay was only 5 mins away so we went every day, food was reasonably priced and tasted lovely, the staff were helpful when my son didn't want chips they swapped them for bread. There were no rushing you with your order or your food. You get big portion sizes.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank karateLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Visited the foxhound inn today after my dad recomened it a while ago and i was impressed.very nice food and good prices also and good size portions very nice

Helpful?
2 Thank antony l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foxhound Inn also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Staxton, North Yorkshire
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Foxhound Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing