We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't fault it.”
Review of Foxhound Inn

Foxhound Inn
Ranked #55 of 357 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Can't fault it.”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Just back from our 2nd trip to the foxhound inn this weekend. We found this pub a few years ago & liked it then. In the area for the weekend again and decided to look the place up again & we certainly wernt disappointed. Good food as before, MASSIVE portions as before & polite pleasant staff. Lovely & would recommend to anyone. Please go & make your own mind up.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrsmidge67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    123
    43
    19
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“2nd visit - wish we lived nearer!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

First visited last year and loved it, just as good this time too. Family of 8 both times and all loved it. Be warned the portions are enormous! Well worth a visit and would recommend as very good pub food. Gets very busy so arrive early. Family of 8 with most having starters and main plus 2 drinks each was £120 so excellent value.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paddyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a waste of money”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Went today with five family members, on arrival was told there would be an hours wait, we waited and eventually where shown to a table an hour later our order still hasn't been taken then we noticed someone's order being taken who was seated after us, when we asked how long we would have to wait we where told still an hour then staff came and said sorry they didn't realise no one had taken our order. Staff miserable and unfriendly even though it was us who had waited 2 1/2 hours for food with three hungry children. At no point where we asked if everything was ok with our meals. Will not be going back the worst £70 ever spent.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LouiseKelly73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gone down hill”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We have been going to the foxhounds for about 4 years now although a bit shabby food delicious and staff pleasant and helpfull. We decided to go on wed 3 rd April after work as we usually do this time of year . We noticed new staff on asking the older baseman if we were ok to have a meal as it was quite busy and where could we sit . His curt reply was what do you want to drink,we asked again ,his reply the same so we ordered a drink out of embarrassment then a girl did come and put us in room we ordered our meals .when she brought my meal she said my friends would not be long by the time it came I had nearly finished mine I asked her if I could have another drink ,her reply was you have to get your own ! The night was spoilt and I don t think I will go again which is a shame as I do like the food but the sod you attitude is wrong we have a shop and would never speak to a paying customer like that .

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Churcab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great pub food!”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Visited on Good Friday 2013 whilst holidaying in nearby Hunmanby Gap as a group of 6. We were completely surprised and taken aback by how huge the portions were! The food was good quality, which was very good value for money and very quick service. We were so impressed with our meals we booked for Easter Sunday. Even though we arrived early and they were very busy they quickly sorted our table for us. The roast dinners were some of the best we have ever had. Cannot fault the staff, food or value for money!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foxhound Inn also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Staxton, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Foxhound Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing