We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, excellent food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eastern Paradise

Eastern Paradise
Ranked #70 of 353 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great service, excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

Five of us visited recently on a Saturday night. Very friendly welcome, speedy attentive service, polite staff, and great food and atmosphere. Highly recommended, One of the best Indian restaurants we've been to anywhere.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    56
    20
    11
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough
Level Contributor
275 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“LOVELY MEAL IN THE BEST INDIAN RESTAURANT IN SCARBOROUGH”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Once again an excellent meal. Had a different curry than I have had before and it was excellent. Overall food was excellent, wine was nice and the service was very friendly. The guys who run this place go out of their way to please their customers. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireFellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant with amazing staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Went to this restaurant on Monday night & enjoyed the meal so much we went back again on Tuesday night. The staff are amazing. Very welcoming, very efficient & very very nice & friendly. I have to say that my wife & I have a passion for indian food & have eaten in many restaurants around the world & this is one of the best anywhere. Would recommend very highly & we will visit again on our next holiday in Scarborough next year.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Just a bit better than average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

We visited this place last Thursday in June 2014. It was a quiet night for them so service was reasonably prompt. All the staff that we spoke to were polite and courteous all the time. The interior is clean and tidy and welcoming, well spaced tables and generally a pleasant atmosphere. Unless you're looking for somewhere - extra special, this restaurant is just the place for a decent "no frills" meal.
Slight hiccup, but then mistakes do happen. My wife ordered a Fish Karahi. A guy on the next table ordered a Lamb Karahi. And you've already guessed it - they got them to the wrong tables. Might never have happened if the dishes didn't look exactly the same and they didn't try to serve two tables at once. Once the mistake was noted and staff made aware they quickly resolved the matter. ( the guy who got fish instead of lamb was quite happy to continue with the fish.) Although very apologetic they didn't make any reduction on the bill for the extra wait for a new meal to arrive. But then, am I being too critical?
All in all the meal was fair, good honest food, decent sized portions, well presented and reasonably tasty, though probably a bit mild, again, it's down to a matter of taste.
If I was in Scarborough again I would more than likely give them another visit. There's nothing negative to say but then they are not an outstanding, never to be missed restaurant, just a bit better than average.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Checked out restaurants on TripAdvisor and picked this one. We weren't disappointed. Food was fabulous! We had the set menu for 2. All the courses were excellent. And they gave us a complimentary drink to finish off an enjoyable dining experience.

Helpful?
Thank Alistair W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eastern Paradise also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Eastern Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing