We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bit overpriced”
Review of Marmalade's Restaurant - CLOSED

Marmalade's Restaurant
Price range: $15 - $32
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A Bit overpriced”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We called here one night in July , I had Patte starter and steak main , my partner had Patte Starter and Chicken main , although the meals were quite tasty I thought they were a little overpriced, the staff were very efficient and friendly and the restaurant itself was very nice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoberteleeWorksop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    12
    5
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Steak night”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Friends of ours have an apartment in Scarborough and whenever we visit we try to incorporate a visit to Marmalade's. Our favourite night is Thursday when they not only have the steak offer but also a very good band playing. The offer is a steak, always high quality and cooked to perfection, chips & various trimmings plus a choice of several very decent house wines for £30 per couple. Service is invariably excellent. Highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annb15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“meals”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

loved all didn't dislike anything service was great was my dads birthday gave them a cake and candles which they brought out after our meal as a surprize , the food is really good we had a meal both nights we stayed there none of us could fault it

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank yvonne1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A very happy stay at Beiderbecke's”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had a long weekend away earlier this year to recover from a stressful time at work. We chose Beiderbecke's because we had stayed before and found the hotel very pleasant indeed and the restaurant an unexpected bonus. The receptionist was friendly and welcoming. The room was spacious and comfortable and looked out over the Crescent. On both nights we dined in the restaurant and had exceptional meals. I booked us in for Steak night on the Friday after checking they would be able to accommodate me as a vegetarian! Basil made some suggestions and I left it to him and was not disappointed. We allowed him to choose the wine and were equally happy with the choices he made. We had a superb evening and felt it could not be bettered. On the Saturday night we dined there again and, if anything, the food and wine surpassed the previous night. The background jazz also makes a really special addition to the atmosphere. We would rate both nights' meals as among the best we have had anywhere and Basil is a superb host who really knows how to make you feel welcome. I would recommend the hotel and the restaurant unreservedly to anyone wanting a break in Scarborough who wants to be near the attractions but in a quiet, elegant area away from the bustle.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnie, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“basil's glory”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

we went with reli,s including my wifes 92 yr old mother.
there was a jazz trio on who were really good and she loved them..
it was a good menu and the food cooked extremely well.
alltho' no wine list offered the one recommended by basil
was very good.
overall a great evening and would certainly return..

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tastytas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marmalade's Restaurant also viewed

 
Potter Brompton, Scarborough
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing