We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, great portions, great value.”

Il Piatto Italian restaurant
Ranked #74 of 352 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great food, great portions, great value.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

This was my first time here and I'd definitely go back. We had 3 courses for £16.95 and it is excellent value for money. I had a palenta, cheese and beef starter, followed by mushroom linguine and topped off with tiramisu cake. The portions were very generous, the food is cooked fresh and is very good. If I was being really picky, I would say the restaurant lacks a bit of atmosphere and the Waiter and waitress could look as though they're enjoying serving you, but don't let this put you off, it's definitely worth a visit, I recommend you go and I'll be going back.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stevenbevnholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    340
    132
    37
    24
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Had the preset menu and enjoyed the food selection. The dishes were all tasty and the service was good. Shame about the outside, Makes the restaurant look dated which is definately not the case when you sit down!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Defo a italian restaurant with a special difference. ..thank you :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Glad we found this place will be eating here again for sure.
Excellent value and great service.
Lovely atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coolishlobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Good food with varied and interesting menu. Good value 3-course meal (pre-theatre). Large and luscious desserts.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank kagsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
112 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Pudding heaven.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Ate here on a quiet Sunday evening when we arrived there were only two other guests but by the time we left it was much busier. Although Italian its not a pizzeria and has a much more relaxed sedate air which is nice for romantic nights out. The decor is pleasant and the staff very friendly and attentive. We had the special pre-theater menu with a bottle of house wine which provided us with three courses for £44 which is an absolute bargain. There is ample choice including some nice vegetarian options. Hubby had the ribs followed by pan fried pork which he said were very good and i had the fried polenta followed by steak in gorgonzola sauce. Both were very nice, the sauce was lovely, not too overpowering and the vegetables that came with it were cooked to perfection and obviously done to order. My one slight comment would be the polenta was not really warm enough and the slivers of parmessan on top of it a little thick, but thats if I am being picky!.Best of all was the puddings - we both had lemon cheesecake and it was heavenly. Proper homemade fair not the usual shop bought frozen rubbish so often served up as desserts. I am not a pudding person but I would go back here just for the pudding it was so good. All in all a very pleasant experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sm0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Piatto Italian restaurant also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Il Piatto Italian restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing