We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well worth a visit...”

Il Piatto Italian restaurant
Ranked #66 of 358 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“well worth a visit...”
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Visited following very good reviews and we were not disappointed. Situated near The Grand Hotel, It was Sat evening but there was no need to book at this time of year. Service was very good (helped by a Shayne Ward lookalike italian waiter with a nice smile) lol. We had minestrone soup to start which was home made and plenty of it. I then had salmon with leeks cherry tomatoes and fresh veg (which happened to be new pots and SPROUTS).. cant say ive ever had sprouts with salmon before! My partner had pork tenderloin which he enjoyed also. They serve 3 courses for £16.95. We didnt have a dessert but they looked generous in size.
We would definitely visit this restaurant again and recommend it.
:-)

Helpful?
Thank joyg1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    136
    38
    25
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Italian Food That Doesn't Disappoint”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Second year running we booked a hotel and travelled over to Scarborough so we could eat at Il Piatto. Was call Da Claudio, but the name change has not altered the high quality and reasonable prices for this excellent Italian Restaurant.. Had the mixed meat and cheese platter with home made bread and olives as a shared starter and followed with a beautifully prepared Risotto Reale (fillet steak was cooked perfectly!) Accompanied by a bottle of red wine (which came too cold, but soon warmed up on the toasty radiator) which again did not disappoint. No room for dessert! Service was friendly and attentive and food arrived quickly despite the restauarant being busy due to Christmas office party. Worth the trip over....

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent everything”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

best itailan food i ever had very good service excellent food, nice atmosphere, friendly staff we will go again thanks

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank craig8585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

A bleak November Monday evening and I struggled to find somewhere for a group of five of us.Stumbled upon Il Piatto by accident and I am really pleased I did.
Welcome service and food was faultless and very reasonable.My main of steak con fungi...red wine reduction was to die for and would defiantly rush back to have this again.....A great evening...we will be back!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay6661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Italian good food”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Went here following reviews on Trip Advisor. The idea of an Italian restaurant which doesn't do pizza was an intrigue. We had booked a table in advance for a Wednesday evening. It wasn't necessary as it proved. Warm welcome by a young man who gave us a choice of where to sit. We chose a table for two by the door. Our waitress was lovely. Polite, engaging and witty. We can recommend both the flat bread starter and the Italian meat and cheese platter. For mains, both the prawn and asparagus risotto and the stuffed and rolled pork were lovely. The house red wine by the bottle was also good. We didn't do dessert but did enjoy a choice of coffees and a couple of brandys to finish off. Cosy place with good food and not in your face service. Would recommend.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dillan1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Piatto Italian restaurant also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Il Piatto Italian restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing