We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Piatto Restaurante

Il Piatto Restaurante
Ranked #69 of 353 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Arrived on a Tuesday as the restaurant opened at 5.30pm, and so it was very quiet initially. However, more people soon arrived and it was obvious that this was a popular place to eat. The food was lovely, very reasonably priced, and the service was very good. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pickyniki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    339
    131
    37
    23
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“good restaurant with an owner who is interested in his menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

The owner is happy to chat about his menu and his experiences and gives the impression that he cares about the quality of what he delivers. The menu is varied with some interesting dishes there (this isn't one of those Italian restaurants that has a very lengthy list of old favourites that are pulled out of the freezer and microwaved for you). Antipasta has some nice items on it and the recommended steak was pretty good, house wine is prefectly acceptable. Its in a central location, its fine to eat there on your own, in a couple or a small group. Service was friendly and efficient. If you're in Scarborough, its worth a try

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LancasterHermit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Visited this restaurant on a Tuesday evening when they had an offer of two 3 course meals with a bottle of wine for £43.00.The food was really great with a varied menu to choose from.We really enjoyed the wine as well,good value for money.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of the best Italian Restaurants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Visited early on a Tuesday evening and it was very quiet. I am very surprised it wasn't much busier as this was one of the best Italian Restaurants I have ever visited. The service was excellent and very friendly and the food was amazing. We could not fault anything at all and will definitely return here next time we are in Scarborough.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury
Level Contributor
100 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Food was amazing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Took my husband for his birthday and to say we were pleasantly surprised, to start we had, braised spare ribs and garlic mash, I had pear and walnut salad, Wow is all I can say,it was fresh tasty and hubby,s ribs were equally as good. Mains were steak pizzola with was cook delicious came with salad, hubby had chicken cordon bleu with salad, fresh tasty and agin plentiful the young waiter was friendly, enthusiastic and helpful. Wine x 2 beer and coffee. Cost £43.00 we will be visiting again

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Easey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Piatto Restaurante also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Il Piatto Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing