We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No to tastecard due to not booking 24 hours in advance”

Il Piatto Italian restaurant
Ranked #68 of 358 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“No to tastecard due to not booking 24 hours in advance”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Called at this restaurant at 5.40pm 1.11.12 with my Daughter after a days shopping in York. We were told that as we had not booked 24 hours in advance with our tastecard then we could not use it. There was only 2 other diners in the restaurant and I doubt very much that it would have been fully booked at the time that we called for tea. We have been before to this restaurant a couple of times previous to getting a tastecard and loved it so we were really disappointed not to have gone. It does not say on the tastecard website that you have to book 24 hours in advance it only says you have to book via telephone with a tastecard. Why I wonder?

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank aromazone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claudio-scarborough, Manager at Il Piatto Italian restaurant, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
dear sir just a quick reply.
this week was a busy period due to a school break.
how to use the card, is clearly state you must telephone and book in advance mention the card.
due to the high user we had to apply the correct policy of any diners card.

thank you
claudio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    136
    38
    25
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chorley England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“best Italian restaurant we have ever been to”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Went for a short break to Scarborough.Our son had been last year and recommended we try Da Claudio.We visited on monday evening and used our Taste card. We were amazed by the quality of the food and also the attentiveness and warmth of the waitresses.So much did we enjoy our meal that we visited for the following two nights. Each night we looked forward to the suprise we would have with the meal. The food was superb the desserts delicious and very original.Excellent size portions . We could not believe the food or the service we received especially as they knew we were using a taste card, which enabled us to eat for half price.We will definitly eat here next time we are in Scarborough, with or without a taste card.How nice to have such an original menu without a Pizza in sight. Well done Claudio and girls.
Thank you for the best eating experience ever.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank analdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Great value meal”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Went to Da Claudio whilst on business in Scarborough as was fed up eating in the hotel, really good value for money. Great portion sizes, tasty food and a good house wine. Only rated as a 4 as although the risotto was tasty it had not had the care and attention a good risotto needs and as a result it was a tad too thick.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jlindajen2427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Excellent evening at Da-Claudio's”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We have visited this restaurant on a number of occasions and on Saturday (20 October) we were a party of eight and we all had a super evening at Da-Claudio's, once again. A number of the party had the fixed price menu and the remainder from the main menu and all found the food to be excellent - very good portions, excellent presention and wonderful flavours. The fixed price menu food at £14. 95 for a three course meal must be the best value in town!! The service was attentive and friendly - it must be remembered this is not a typical pizza/pasta restaurant but a restaurant serving very authentic Italian fare. Would thoroughly recommend the restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Good food but extremely slow service”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Had pre-booked online and we arrived at exactly the appointed time. We were then seated in the bar area to the rear of the restaurant and left for half an hour. It was at 6pm when the restaurant opened and the tables were less than one third occupied. It was an hour from arrival before the first food was served and two hours in all even though we were not ordering a great deal. The food was good if a little light in portion size but the service let the whole experience down. This restaurant promotes the fact that you are given a 10% discount if you order from the a la carte menu and have booked online but this discount was not provided. We did not raise the issue because we were numb from sitting for so long and did not want to prolong the agony!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulBerni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Piatto Italian restaurant also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Il Piatto Italian restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing