We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class cusine, service and location”

Il Piatto Italian restaurant
Ranked #75 of 352 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
114 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“First class cusine, service and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2011

Late night good treat with good potion. Very popular, so have to wait around 15-20min. Fair prices. Very good location, the corner of the "grand Scarborough" hotel.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jude9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    340
    132
    37
    24
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good but allow plenty time, definitely not fast food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

Tried at 6pm to book here on Saturday night, but earliest table was 9.15pm. Booked instead for 8pm Sunday. Initially seated near bar, selected from menu, then seated at table with bruschetta and breadsticks. Starters arrived about 9pm. Worth the wait. We had a beef salad in parmesan basket, and a prawn starter, again with parmesan wafers. Had a Vermentino wine from their wines of the month list at £15. It was absolutely stunning with strong lemon flavours. We both had risotto for the main, one with a fillet mignon, and the other beef fillet strips. All the meals were delicious, but as the food took so long to serve, we had to have a 2nd bottle of the Vermentino. We drink sparkling water when out, and were pleased to see that they served a genuine Italian brand, Ferrarelle. We left at 11pm, 3 hours. Bill was £68.70 inc £36.70 for drinks and coffee.
Superb food and excellent value. Suspect service could be faster, and they could cope with more covers, if they had a bigger kitchen, and more cooking staff.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheCatsMumAndDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigco, Owner at Il Piatto Italian restaurant, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
our policy is to cook everything to order (to keep our food fresh and tasty everything is cook to order) so we allow time for you to enjoy the meal and once you book the table is yours for the night, we not a fast food place because we not make use of microwave or frying facility, this is why we offer our pre theatre menu up to 8.30 and is been a great success, this is been our policy from the day we open.
Hope to see you again in our restaurant.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a finish to a great short break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2011

At the end of a super short break in Scarborough we decided to finish it all off with a visit to DA-CLAUDIO. Only noticed it as it was very close to our hotel (Premier Inn) and we passed it every day on our way to and from the beach. We did of course strike lucky with the weather as our stay was from 1st to 4th June and it was roasting hot. What a find DA-CLAUDIO turned out to be!!! The staff were so friendly and attentive and the food was out of this world. All in the party (4 adults and 1 child + 1 teenager) are lovers of Italian food and this surpassed everyones expectations. I can honestly say that the food was probably the best Italian food that my wife and I have ever tasted. Marvellous food at a reasonable price.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food, Friendly Service, Pleasant surroundings and value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

We went from chosing this restaurant because it was the closest to our hotel to feeling we wereindeed the lucky ones. On the evening we visited (Thursday) the restaurant was already quite full and there was not a spare table after 8.30pm so we would book next time. The food was excellent and the portion sizes would satisfy the hungriest of customers. All the dishes were well presented and had a little something different about them. Our starter of mixed olives for example were combined with almond flakes and orange zest - delicious! After three plus hours in this very relaxed restaurant we left vowing to come back to Scarborough if only to visit Da-Claudios again.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathekon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A wonderful find!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2011

We were surprised & delighted with our choice of restaurant to eat in. It was a very windy & showery day & we were ready to find a good restaurant to make up for the weather! The choice of menus available so early in the evening was great. The service was impeccable & the food was superb! Canapes were served with our wine & each dish chosen arrived with perfect timing. Our food was beautifully cooked & full of flavour. Wish there was a sister restaurant down south!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rowan55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Piatto Italian restaurant also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Il Piatto Italian restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing