We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“MOST ENJOYABLE LUNCH”

Ask Italian - Scarborough
Ranked #30 of 352 Restaurants in Scarborough
Price range: $9 - $17
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: You couldn't ask for a better location for dining in Scarborough than that of the superb ASK Italian restaurant. Based in the North Wharf, ASK Italian sits directly opposite the sea and is perched on the harbour side. If you dine upstairs you'll catch the most magnificent views over the sea and Scarborough Castle and the large outdoor seating area is idyllic in the summer months. As for the food, ASK Italian Scarborough serves up classic Italian food with style and flair. The menu is full of tasty Italian dishes such as the Pollo Marsala (chicken supreme cooked in mushroom and Marsala wine sauce served with green beans and a bowl of seasoned chips or roasted new Charlotte potatoes or the delicious salad with marinated king prawns and a spicy chilli and lemon dip. Enjoy a chilled Peroni beer or glass of wine and indulge in the beautiful views and first class food at ASK Italian.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“MOST ENJOYABLE LUNCH”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

Visited on a sunny, busy day. After a little negotiation we secured a table on the upstairs, outside balcony overlooking the harbour. The weather and the view certainly added to our enjoyment of lunch. We used a voucher, two courses for £10.95. Our starters were Butterfly King Prawns and a Caprese Salad. Both excellent. Our mains were a Calzone Pizza and a Chicken based Risotto. Both very good in terms of content and taste. A very nice Italian Merlot at £16.50 was reasonably priced. Our experience was enhanced by pleasant and helpful staff. We will definitely return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank george c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    502
    447
    237
    89
    99
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Birthday meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

The food was OK, but with smaller portions than we've had in other Italian restaurants, not the best Italian meal we've eaten, but expensive for what we had, £100 for 2 courses for 4 people including beer & soft drinks.The service was good. The decor was clinical, not very Italian as you would expect. We have been in other ASK restaurants which have an Italian feel to the decor & background music & in which the food has been much better. We wouldn't rush to go back here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Good pizza in a lovely spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Decent pizzas and salads. Friendly staff and a nice atmosphere, though a bit clattery and echoey, which bothered father-in-law. The location raises the rating to four stars.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank HiraethHenryd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Ofreviously better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

This is situated in a nice position overlooking the harbour.
I called in to book. Someone took my number but never called me so the next day I called and booked - don't know what that was all about.
Previous meals here had been fine but our most recent meal was a disaster. We ordered Brushetta having always previously enjoyed it here. However, the menu had changed since our last visit. The Brushetta was dry and tasteless. I ordered a vegetarian main which wasn't nice and unfortunately I couldn't eat it but the waitress was lovely and I was offered a replacement.
We found the wooden seats quite uncomfortable and the acoustics here always seem to lead to a very noisy environment.
I don't think we will go back in a hurry.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Di55755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“nice surroundings,lovely food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

very friendly place,staff polite and attentive. we both orderedpasta dishes with a garlic bread and waitress helped us choose and give us good advice. reasonably priced food with a sea view.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank happytrip0949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ask Italian - Scarborough also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Ask Italian - Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing