We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lanterna

Lanterna
Ranked #67 of 352 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
derbyshire,england
Level Contributor
60 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A beautiful meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

Table for 4 on a Saturday night did not dissapoint.Friendly and very efficient service.Pefectly cooked fish,3 had turbot,1 had brill.Excellent wine list.Chef had time for a littel chat,and is quite a character.We did not find it over expensive,considering the chioces we made,and I have paid much more at other restaurants that came nowhere near this quality.We will be back.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank derbyshiretraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    35
    21
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Superb food, excellent service, lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We visited Lanterna on a recommendation, and it proved to be everything we anticipated.
There is a very comprehensive standard menu plus a specials menu which proved to have something (and more) for every one of our party of six.
We hadn't booked and simply dropped in early(ish) on a cold Saturday night. The welcome though was very warm and our thoughts that it was a "quiet night" proved incorrect as the restaurant quickly filled.
Drinks arrived quickly and we had a good run through the menus with our cheerful waitress. We all ate different starters and a mix of mains. All were excellent. It was clear that everything was freshly prepared and that quality produce is high on this restaurants priorities. The personal touches of the owner/chef are also clear and the attention of the front of house staff proved to be spot on.
It is rare to find a restaurant with all the balances of food and service that this one delivered.Heartily recommended

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jamLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Expected better at this restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Visited for the first time on New Years Eve a couple of years ago. Had read all the rave reviews & our expectations were high. Unfortunately we were extremely disappointed, the service was very slow & the meals very bland & tasteless & therefore extremely overpriced. There were a lot of regulars in that night & we felt they were more concerned about their needs. Sorry but wont be returning

Helpful?
3 Thank Vickiwheeler1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Warm, friendly, authentic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We first visited this ristorante in 2006 when we had a weekend in Scarborough and on returning we booked again as our last experience was excellent. We took friends and it is always a concern telling them how good it was, just in case it had changed. It hadn't. Everyone thought it was wonderful.

The local fresh fish was tasty and beautifully cooked. The Italian dishes were as you would expect in Italy (we have just returned from 3 weeks in Tuscany). The owner and chef Giorgio came out and talked to everone at the end of the meal imparting little snippets of how certain dishes were cooked.

We live some 80 miles from Scarborough and the quality of this ristorante was so good we would happily arrange an overnight stay to visit this ristorante again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank airehamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dinner at La Lanterna: A treat not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

I have eaten at La Lanterna many times and always enjoyed excellent food and service. The menu offers delightful dishes but always listen carefully to the daily specials - these are written in the Chef's mind early in the morning while he is buying his freshly-landed fish. Particularly delicious is the turbot which he cooks beautifully. Giorgio's "Italo-Yorkshire Fusion" adds another dimension to eating out. A MUST is the ZABAGLIONE prepared directly "on the flame" by your table. See the Maestro at work and don't miss this one for anything! Very good value for money. Booking is essential given the limited size of the restaurant.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrDerekJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lanterna also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Lanterna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing