We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Honest review of a lovely cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Batty Barn

Outside view of the cottage from the farm yard.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outside view of the cottage from the farm yard.
Outside View Spacious kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Outside view of the cottage from the farm yard.
Outside View
Spacious kitchen
Lounge
Twin bedroom
Plenty of room for a travel cot in either bedroom
Views from the yard.
View over the dale.
Shared play area for children
trampoline and playarea. Free range chickens!
Yet more stunning views.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Scarborough, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
153tonino
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Honest review of a lovely cottage”
Reviewed December 17, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

We arrived just after 3pm at Batty Barn on a cold day with traces of snow still evident in the fields. The heating was on and the cottage was very warm on entering clean and beautiful perfect for a short break. With eggs left for us and a nice bowl of fruit also shampoo shower gels hand pump soaps & fairy liquid and dishwasher tablets it was a good start to a mini break.
The following morning I took my 11 year old son to look at the cows and calves close up the farmer was through the other side and waved. He took the time to walk round and take us to the other side of the barn where twin calves had been born two days previously this made my sons day. Later that morning we saw the farmers wife who waved and there dog who came and sat by our son leaning against him for a stroke and would have been content to sit there all day being fussed over.

The conservatory might not be as warm as one wanted on initially entering it with just the central heating however but the owners have anticipated this there is also an electric oil filled one so you won't be cold.

The eggs left for us we had at breakfast and they were the best eggs we have ever had. Friendly owners lovely cottage wifi isn't the fastest but it's rural location with amazing views ? The odd loud moo of a cow had us laughing lovely location and lovely owners.

Date of stay: December 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed December 15, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Lovely cottage, perfectly equipped and very cosy. Being December it was very chilly outside but the cottage was really warm and inviting. Dog friendly which was great as out Lola really enjoyed it.Fresh eggs on the doorstep was a bonus. Would highly recommend. Kitchen was very well equipped with all the things you need

Date of stay: December 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave D
2 reviews
“Happy return.”
Reviewed November 21, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Yet again another wonderful break at Batty Barn. Perfect, peaceful surroundings. Wonderful hosts. We can't wait to come back. Thankyou for a great getaway.

Date of stay: October 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 23, 2017
Thank you. Welcome back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickyLH82
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed April 28, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We stayed here for a few days over Christmas and it was a lovely getaway. A nice touch was the xmas tree that was put up. A lovely place to stay, the barn has everything you would need and its very homely.
Close to scarborough and Whitby and also robin hoods bay.
Would recommend for anyone who wants a peaceful break. Would stay again but for longer next time.
Thanks for a lovely stay.

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave D
2 reviews
“Simply Superb.”
Reviewed January 1, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

What a great place. My partner, my two daughters and myself had a great time staying here in Batty Barn. A lovely cottage in a beautiful location and friendly, helpful owners to boot. I almost wanted to keep quiet about it and make it our little secret but it just wouldn't be fair. Thanks for a wonderful break.

Date of stay: December 2016
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickyLH82
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Christmas break”
Reviewed December 30, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Stayed here for 3 nights over Xmas and loved it. A Christmas tree had been put in which was a nice touch. The area is very peaceful and scenic. Excellent amenities available. Close to Scarborough, Whitby and robin hoods bay for nice days out at the seaside. Would definitely recommend and the only thing I would do differently is stay for longer next time! Thanks for a fab Xmas getaway :)

Date of stay: December 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
_angela_r...
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Brilliant cottage, excellent surroundings”
Reviewed August 1, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

What a lovely cottage, everything that you could possibly need for a week away, very well equipped. We only wish that we had booked a second week. The best bed that we had slept in on holiday.

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing