We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Holiday in Scarborough”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Monico Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Monico Guest House
Ranked #43 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Holiday in Scarborough”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

It all started off on the 2nd august 2013, we were met by Ian who showed us around the B&B. Our room was a very nice size, with an excellent size bathroom (I'm quite tall so it suited me down to a tea)
Ian and Sue were amazing, Throughout the holiday we were always made like we were welcome in there hotel. Everything this weekend was excellent and I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Will defiantly return to this hotel! Ian and sue were amazing!

Room Tip: No. We loved our room (Was on the top floor but amazing!) Could not fault Ian and sue for there ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wwwmonicoscarborough, Owner at Monico Guest House, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
We are so pleased your stay with us was a enjoyable one and look forward to seeing you both in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
121
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Karlskrona, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Very nice place! Very kind host and hostess, clean rooms, delicious food and excellent hospitality! Nothing to complain about! We have stayed here several times, its the best guess house in Scarborough! Located in a good area in Scarborough, close to North Bay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MatildaH88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wwwmonicoscarborough, Owner at Monico Guest House, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
What a lovely review you have left us matilda look forward to seeing you all next year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlehampton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

If you stay in Scarborough make this B and B your top priority you will not be disappointed Wonderful breakfast, spotless rooms and such a warm welcome We cannot wait to return and enjoy Sue and Ians hospitality once again ,thank you again to both for such a wonderful stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank januk17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wwwmonicoscarborough, Owner at Monico Guest House, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
It was are pleasure to have such a lovely couple stay with us look forward to your next visit regards sue and Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

This guesthouse is an amazing find. Ian and Sue are friendly and attentive and will always go that extra mile for their guests. The rooms are spotless and well designed, as well as beautifully decorated. The breakfasts are filling and plentiful, and the fresh fruit salad is delicious. I would recommend this guesthouse to anyone staying in Scarborough.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank sheba72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wwwmonicoscarborough, Owner at Monico Guest House, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank for leaving us such a lovely review .It was are pleasure to have you stay with us and look forward to your next visit regards sue and Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

This was a surprise last minute getaway.
Rooms, food and hospitality of the owners are excellent.
Will definitely be returning again and will recommend to friends/family.
It was a sunny bank holiday weekend, in a friendly guest host.
A Lovely Find!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Belmont_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wwwmonicoscarborough, Owner at Monico Guest House, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the monico and look forward to seeing you both in the future Ian and sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Me and my partner stayed for one night, and Ian and Sue were very accommodating. We stayed in room 7 on the ground floor, and it was a lovely room, very clean and warm, and the bed was so comfortable. I never got up for breakfast, but my partner did and he said it was a lovely breakfast. I cannot recommend this guest house highly enough, well worth a stay, and I wouldn't hesitate to stay again. Thanks, Ian & Sue! X

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wwwmonicoscarborough, Owner at Monico Guest House, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review it was are pleasure to welcome you to the monico and look forward to your next visithave a great time in Benidorm love sue and Ian xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Comfortable, friendly, clean, welcoming.....what more can I say? Oh yes the fact that they did the most amazing breakfast EVER! Excellent choice from fresh fruit to a full English.....would definitely recommend this guest house to couples looking for that one or two nights away. Will be going back for sure :-)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wwwmonicoscarborough, Owner at Monico Guest House, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you Anna for your kind words we want are customers to fell at home and enjoy there stay with us and it works both way when you get nice people stay see you soon sue and Ian xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
3.7 mi away
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Cloughton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
#21 of 182 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.8 mi away
Scarborough Travel and Holiday Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
North Bay Guest House
North Bay Guest House
#5 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
#8 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Oakwheel Inn
The Oakwheel Inn
#1 of 1 in Burniston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monico Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monico Guest House

Property: Monico Guest House
Address: 74 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Monico Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The monico guest house is situated on the north bay close to peasone park alexander bowls open air thearter and the beach all are 6 rooms are ensuite with flat screen tv with preview all toiletries are provided well stocked hostes tray with biscuits and chocolates free wifi and free parking full yorkshire breakfast fresh fruit salad haddock with poached egg local kippers and a warm welcome from sue and Ian ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Monico Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monico Guest House Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing