We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staying”
Review of Monico Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Monico Guest House
Ranked #42 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rokycany, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent staying”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This place was booked for me via Anglolang school and I have to say that it was a perfect choice. Comfortable, well equipped and for me the most important aspect - absolutely clean rooms. Breakfast is usually served from 8:30 - 9:00 but Ian had no problem to prepare my breakfast at 8:10. Every day the breakfast consists of variety of cereals, yoghurts, wonderful fresh fruit salad and of course full English breakfast and plenty of juice, coffee, tea and milk. The guest house is situated between the centre and the beach, 15 minutes walk from the railway station. I was absolutely satisfied and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Alena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
123
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colne, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Very clean and friendly guest house. The room we had was one of the biggest I've stayed in and Ian & Sue couldn't do enough for you. There's even an option for evening meal although we didn't take it. The breakfast was very good and my partner being vegetarian wasn't a problem. At breakfast there was fresh fruit salad which my partner loved! There was plenty of tea, coffee and milk in the room to make a brew without worrying of running out. Would stay again!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wwwmonicoscarborough, Owner at Monico Guest House, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
It was are pleasure to have such a lovely couple stay with us look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

me and my husband booked this last minute but what a gem we have found. we have been going scarborough many many years and this is a great guest house. we are already planning to go back here in december and then again next year as well for our anniversary. Ian and Sue are so friendly and nothing is to hard for them. They will do anything for you and this is just like a home from home. The room is outstanding, its the best nights sleep I've had in a very long time and the breakfast is beautiful, so much choice. I dont normally eat big breakfasts in the morning but I could not resist there tasty food. They both work extremely hard and make you feel so relaxed. I cant say nothing bad about this place, even the location is brilliant, only 10 minute walk to the town. See you both soon. Becky and James Phillips

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank beautifulbeki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Top Notch ! warm; friendy , homely, welcome, which is a change from the norm in some guest houses .the guest house is mint its spotless, comfortable and great value for money ! we will return next year when ive lost some weight, Breakfast to die for ! thanxs for putting up with us mark & vicki from nuneaton ( ps nice bar by the way ! )

Room Tip: quiet location i think all rooms will be good ours was excellant
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank markviks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Well what can I say about this Guest House.We have been twice this year,once with Grandchildren and again with friends. I have frankly never stayed in a friendlier place anywhere and we do get about a bit. Spotlessly clean and comfortable. Breakfast is lovely. Hosts cannot do enough for you and nothing is too much trouble. We would not consider staying anywhere else in Scarborough. Dont miss out.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank baileysDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Aug 15 - Aug 22 - It was great to be back & staying with Ian & Sue in their well presented, very clean, comfortable home! This time we were joined by Bethan, our 5yr old grandaughter who was very excited to be having her 1st holiday without mummy & daddy! We stayed in the family suite which was perfect for us all. Bethan loved having her own room accessed off our bedroom & the corner bath with shower attachment in the en-suite proved to be easier than having just a shower cubicle when getting her ready for bed & also welcomed by us at the end of day too! We had most of our evening meals at the Monico as we already knew from past experience, that they would be cooked to perfection, include qualityfresh food, superbly presented & excellent value, just like the breakfasts which Ian & Sue pride themselves on & in Bethan's words are 'yummy. yummy'!. Being within walking distance to the relaxing north bay, the location is perfect & has plenty to offer a little one to include Peasholme Park, crazy golf, minature railway to Scawby Mills & Sealife Centre & ideal for catching the open top bus into town or the busier south bay. Bethan has told us she loved staying at the Monico & wants to know when we can go back! Thank you Ian & Sue for everything - you always make us so welcome & like so many people say, on your 1st visit you arrive as guests, but then leave as friends & this is why we will ALL be back next year!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank RickandCarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

stayed here for one night 18 August - decided this B&B after reading reviews on tripadvisor. The location was perfect for walking down to the North Bay and Peasholme Park and the Northbay Railway. The hosts Sue and Ian very friendly and more than helpful with their knowledge of the area. Ian was apologetic for having just had an operation and was perhaps not on top form but we thought he did top job. Breakfast was superb - i didnt have the full english, just egg on toast which was more than enough for me after the cereal. Would i stay again - yes without doubt.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 0SandraL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 182 in Scarborough
395 reviews
0.2 mi away
Airedale Guest House
Airedale Guest House
#48 of 182 in Scarborough
86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jadellas Guest House
Jadellas Guest House
#106 of 182 in Scarborough
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Cloughton
163 reviews
0.8 mi away
Scarborough Travel and Holiday Lodge
1.1 mi away
Mansion House Scarborough
Mansion House Scarborough
#16 of 182 in Scarborough
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monico Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monico Guest House

Property: Monico Guest House
Address: 74 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Monico Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The monico guest house is situated on the north bay close to peasone park alexander bowls open air thearter and the beach all are 6 rooms are ensuite with flat screen tv with preview all toiletries are provided well stocked hostes tray with biscuits and chocolates free wifi and free parking full yorkshire breakfast fresh fruit salad haddock with poached egg local kippers and a warm welcome from sue and Ian ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Monico Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monico Guest House Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing