We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely b&b” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monico Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Monico Guest House
Ranked #43 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Morpeth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“lovely b&b”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

tuseday 10th april had 3 night stay at the monico we were made very welcome by sue and ian, rooms lovely breakfast was good would def stay here again it was within walking to sea front shoping center and pubs

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorraine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wwwmonicoscarborough, Owner at Monico Guest House, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Hi tom and lorraine thank you for your review so glad you both enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you both in the future Ian &sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
118
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

Mon. 12 Mar saw us return for a 3 night stay at the Monico guest house. This was our 3rd visit and we were warmly greeted once again by Sue & Ian, who we now consider our friends! Everything was just as we remembered - exceptionally clean and comfortable accommodation and the food of high quality, generous size portions & beautifully presented! The evening meals are excellent value for money with a good variety of choice and are highly recommendable. We are now looking forward to our stay in August with Sue & Ian, when we will be joined by our 5yr old grandaughter who we know will be looked after, and no doubt spoilt, in the same friendly way which we always are!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RickandCarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wwwmonicoscarborough, Owner at Monico Guest House, responded to this review, April 1, 2012
Thank you carol for taking the time to leave us a review its always nice to get feedback we try to give good value for money so are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us yet again and you enjoyed your evening meals . We look forward to you coming back in august as you say has friends ,we are looking forward to meeting your grandaughter Im sure shes as lovely as you both are take care see you all soon love Ian & sue xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

Stayed at Monico guest house for 2 nights . The hosts Ian & Sue couldn't do enough to make you welcome . Nothing was to much trouble . The large double bedroom was so Cosy & comfortable . All the B&B was spotless & clean . The bed was so Comfortable & ensuite was excellent . They was lovely touches like toileteries in the bathroom & good selection of Tea , coffee & hot chocolate . The B&B was decorated beautifully for the festive period. Breakfast was brillant & freshly cooked . Thankyou for a lovely stay . Tony & Jay .

Room Tip: Had large bedroom & was lovely & peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jayne1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wwwmonicoscarborough, Owner at Monico Guest House, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Thank you jayne for your review we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.That is are aim to make sure you enjoy your stay and want to return and visit us again. You were such a lovely couple and we look forward to seeing you both again in the future sue &ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2011

We went to the Monico guest house with my Mother in Law, who was wheelchair bound. The facilities for her were second to none and the food was delicious. The comfort of the guest house was to a high standard and the decor was flawless! We would definitely go there again for a holiday. A very quiet place. The parking was somewhat a potential problem but this was adequately addressed and we encountered no problems. I would not hesitate to recommend this guest house to friends and family!

Room Tip: Choose any! They are all great! If you have an infirmity, you will be accommodated on the lower floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ian_Chapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed for one night but wished we were staying longer! The rooms were spotless, really well maintained with all home comforts (bubble bath, chocolates, flowers). The legendary breakfast (from other reviews!) was delicious with every kind of breakfast food all freshly prepared! My kids said it was the best full English they had ever had!! I quite agreed!! Sue and Ian were so friendly and welcoming and we would have no hesitation in recommending their beautiful guest house. We will definitely be returning!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mammylodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

Spotlessly clean, the most comfortable beds, the friendliest welcome you'll ever recieve and the food is fab! i have been stayimg with Sue and Ian while studying in Scarborough and i can honestly say that i've found a home from home. i can't recommend them highly enough, Liz T

Room Tip: All the beds are very comfortable but the nicest room is the front room on the first floor,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank liz t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed here for the weekend whilst attending the Jazz Festrival.
Everything was fine. Helpful and friendly hosts.
Recommended.

Room Tip: The room we had at the top had limited headroom in the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Feretdubois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.2 mi away
Mansion House Scarborough
Mansion House Scarborough
#17 of 184 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.1 mi away
North Bay Guest House
North Bay Guest House
#5 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.3 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#29 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarence Gardens Hotel
Clarence Gardens Hotel
#34 of 184 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monico Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monico Guest House

Property: Monico Guest House
Address: 74 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Monico Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The monico guest house is situated on the north bay close to peasone park alexander bowls open air thearter and the beach all are 6 rooms are ensuite with flat screen tv with preview all toiletries are provided well stocked hostes tray with biscuits and chocolates free wifi and free parking full yorkshire breakfast fresh fruit salad haddock with poached egg local kippers and a warm welcome from sue and Ian ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Monico Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monico Guest House Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing