We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay”
Review of The Hillcrest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hillcrest
Ranked #77 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Just return from another great week at the Hillcrest. Tony and Lynn are always welcoming, nothing is to much trouble. Our room was ready when we arrived (which was before the time expected). The hotel is very clean throughout, food is outstanding and freshly cooked, You wont go far wrong staying at this hotel. Thanks Tony and Lynn you were great hosts as usual, you always make our holidays special.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
There are newer reviews for The Hillcrest
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 83 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

Lovely b & b. Booked at the last minute when it looked like the weather was going to be decent. Very friendly and helpful. 2 minutes from peasholme. We were on the top floor and booked a twin room but were pleasantly surprised that there was a double and single bed. The room itself was very clean and comfortable. We did find the shower room a bit small though. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni-Barnsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

this is a little haven of tranquility i was greeted by owners tony and lynne who were in the garden when i arrived i had booked room 3 however was given the choice of 3 or 5 room 5 had a view so i took that also my luggage was whisked off me to my room
the room was light airy and spotleesly clean all the usual amenities tea coffee tv dvd and en suite plenty of space for clothes etc
breakfast was one of the best ive ever had the egggyolks were so bright orange you needed sunglasses definitly free range
as i was leaving i mentioned to tony that i had to go to the castle to collect some things i had purchased he promptly handed me a parking disc thats service for you and as for location well its a 10 minute walk into town centre or 20 if you go via north bay right by peasholm park for the naval battles etc
a definite return for me when im next in North Yorkshire Tony and Lynne were exceptional hosts

Room Tip: dont think theres anything you can say just excellent
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daveywavey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Welcome was warm, friendly and helpful, nice size room with a double and a single bed in. It was clean and airy overlooking the top of the park. Plenty of drawer and wardrobe space, which is always good. Excellent breakfast - cooked to perfection one of the best.

Location meant you were a walk away from everything - lovely and quiet at night which meant a good nights sleep.

It's a long time since we stayed in Scarborough - so glad we happen to choose this hotel, it meant we had a perfect weekend. Thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ohdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Excellent accomodation, very clean & freindly staff. Would reccomend to family & freinds, and would definatly stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emma c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

I stayed at the Hillcrest for just 2 nights but wish that it had been more. From the moment I arrived the hosts Lynn and Tony were cheery and welcoming. My room with en-suite facilities, was large, bright, airy and newly decorated having the benefit of a double and single bed each being adorned with sumptuous bedding. The room and en-suite facilities were immaculately clean and with the added advantage of fluffy towels and a variety of complimentary soaps, shampoo and body wash liquids. A hairdryer is provided so no need to bring your own! TV/DVD and drinks tray made the stay extra homely.
Breakfast was delicious, cooked to order so fresh and tasty.
Don't waste your time looking for a better place to stay because you won't find one! A home from home family run guest house, in close proximity to parks, activity centres and main tourist attractions. I will be back!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 1
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carol j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Im a regular traveller to Scarborough and after staying in a few horrible hotels i stumbled across Hillcrest Hotel and now will not stay anywhere else! The owners, Lynn and Tony, are fabulous hosts always friendly and accommodating.

The room i stayed in had a lovely en-suite and was very spacious, everything was spotlessly clean and well kept. Never had any issue with noise. Breakfast and dinner are always freshly prepared and delicious.

Genuinely cannot find fault with this place. 5minutes walk from the beach, 2minutes to peasholm park. I really do recommend staying here its lovely!

Room Tip: all rooms are quiet and homely and have lovely newly refurbished en-suites
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 332_harry_332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Croft
The Croft
#52 of 184 in Scarborough
59 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 184 in Scarborough
784 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Meltham Guesthouse
The Meltham Guesthouse
#47 of 184 in Scarborough
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ainsley Court Guest House
Ainsley Court Guest House
#78 of 184 in Scarborough
65 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amrock Guest House
Amrock Guest House
#61 of 184 in Scarborough
96 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gordon Hotel
Gordon Hotel
#45 of 184 in Scarborough
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hillcrest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hillcrest

Address: 2 Peasholm Avenue, Scarborough YO12 7NE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $82 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hillcrest 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Hillcrest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing