We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Green Howards Reunion Weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hillcrest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hillcrest
Ranked #74 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Green Howards Reunion Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

I stayed in the Hillcrest Hotel for 2 nights B&B Frid and Sat 7th + 8th October, for our Annual Reunion. Arrived 1 hour early and was greeted by Lyn, no problem for been early, I was shown to my Room, to my surprise a Double Room instead of a Single one. The Room was very clean and a good size to say it was a Attic Room, The Breakfast ,you must have a Full English First Class.
There is only 2 of road Car Parking spaces, but Lyn or Tony will give you a Parking Disc to cover you for your stay, so you can Park on the streets outside of the Hotel.
This a very friendly Hotel I can Recommend a Stay any tine Pete

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    12
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
24
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

Stayed at Hillcrest for 2 nights due to abandoned camping trip. Very warm welcome and happy to accommodate us at extremely short notice.

Recently renovated room was clean, tidy and well appointed. Hotel us in quiet residential road close to Peasholm Park and about 10 minutes walking into Scarborough centre.

Breakfast was very tasty. Choice of cereal, juice and a full cooked breakfast. Perfect fried eggs and plenty of toast.

Hosts are friendly and very helpful with directions etc. Parking is by disc which hosts include in room rate.

Better than many other Scarborough b&b. We'd definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank talindley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2010

The only downside was there really wasn't anywhere for my husband to read his newspaper !
Our bedroom was smallish but extremely clean with a large bathroom. There were lots of nice touches everywhere and I wouldn't hesitate to book this accommodation again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillbestard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2010

I came to the Hilcrest Hotel for a night with my partner, it was really nice, homely and cosy.
When we arrived we got our keys straight away to settle into the room, the room wasn't very big but perfect for a nights stay, it was clean and cosy. The TV was great and it had a lovely bathroom.

The location was great! Quick and Easy. 10 minute walk to the town center and a 2 min taxi ride (very cheap)

The evenings we spoke to the owners to ask about the nightlife and how to get to areas because we didn't know the area. They were a great help.

The only downside to our stay was sometimes we felt like we were intruding for example in the evening we wanted to go get drinks at the bar but they shut the door and turned the lights out. It wasn't a problem to ask them to but it felt wrong to.

Great Food!
Polite owners
Lovely stay!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Farrar-Bone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2008

7 of us descended on tony and lynne's hotel as we were attending a show at the futurist theatre in scarborough and were over the moon with our choice.
very friendly welcome, rooms nicely decorated and furnished and en-suite,
lcd tv with freeview in room as well as tea/coffee making facilities.
5 minute from futurist by taxi
the breakfast the next morning was worth the trip alone.
forget the rubbish you get in 4* hotels abroad this a FULL english breakfast
juice, cereal, as much toast as you could eat then a freshly cooked breakfast of egg,bacon,sausage,tomato,beans and hash brown.
this is a hotel i will be returning to nothing too much trouble and very reasonable drinks prices from their bar.

  • Liked — tony and lynne
  • Disliked — nothing at all
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank no6bus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janrw
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2008

I've stayed at the Hillcrest last weekend and I recommend it.

The hotel is on the small side, located in a quiet residential area and inside it's clean and unpretentious. My bedroom wasn't big but perfect for two nights. The small ensuite had an electric shower which was fine. The TV set didn't have very good reception but as I forgot to mention it to the owners...can only blame myself.

At breakfast, you can chose cereals, continental or English breakfast. Everything was fresh and the toasts were perfect, something that sometimes you don't find in big hotels.

It's in a good location but no sea views. I's less than a two minute walk to the park which deserves a visit. To the seafront, probably more like a fifteen minutes walk.

Friendly owners who even will pay for your street car parking.

Thanks very much Lynn and Tony for a nice weekend.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank janrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2008

stayed here for three nights room very pleasant, clean and comfortable. Breakfast and evening meal was excellent, Lynn and Tony were very welcoming and helpful, we enjoyed the use of their dvd library of an evening. The area of the hotel was very peaceful with a lovely park just across the way. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank chriselaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
Manor Heath Hotel
Manor Heath Hotel
#13 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Marina
Villa Marina
#31 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Almar
The Almar
#6 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Headlands Hotel
The Headlands Hotel
#10 of 184 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.1 mi away
North Bay Guest House
North Bay Guest House
#5 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hillcrest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hillcrest

Property: The Hillcrest
Address: 2 Peasholm Avenue, Scarborough YO12 7NE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hillcrest 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Hillcrest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing