We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (725)
Filter reviews
725 results
Traveler rating
676
40
5
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
676
40
5
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews julie and john peasholm park nothing is too much trouble excellent breakfast other guests place is spotless feel so welcome fantastic hosts full english well stocked bar biscuits great weekend set you up for the day home from home warm welcome cooked fresh a great stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 725 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Perfect bnb Julie and John excellent host's rooms clean and comfortable breakfast 1st class ideal location off street parking nowhere better.night cap in bar before bed with good company flexible breakfast times no faults at all.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Sean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julieandjohn2017, Owner at Almar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks so much for the wonderful review. It was lovely to meet you and we really enjoyed your company. Hope we see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you want excellent food,(The best breakfast ever) excellent rooms, and in our opinion the best hosts in Scarborough who go the extra mile to assure that your stay is special, look no further than the Almar. We cannot praise it enough. The rooms are spotless and extremely comfortable with every amenity. There is even an iron and ironing board for guests to use if required.
We are two of the many returning guests, and this is all down to Julie and John who deserve all the great reviews they get. They are such good company and always make you feel so welcome.
Looking forward to our next stay.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank R J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julieandjohn2017, Owner at Almar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks so much for posting such a great review. It's always lovely having you stay with us - looking forward to seeing you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We picked the Almar after reading reviews and weren't disappointed. John & Julie are fantastic hosts and can't do enough for their guests. Comfortable well equipped bedroom and excellent breakfast. Not often we use hotel bars but so friendly with good choice of drinks we stayed in & had a lovely evening. Short walk to Peasholm Park & North Bay and 15 min walk to town centre. Will definitely be back. Thank you for a lovely weekend!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank nickyjane11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julieandjohn2017, Owner at Almar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks very much for taking the time to post such a great review. We're really please you enjoyed your stay (and the bar) and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2019

We recently stayed at the Almar for 3nights. From the minute we arrived we were made to feel extremely welcome by John and Julie. The room was lovely with drinks and a few snacks that were replenished and rooms were cleaned daily. The rooms were throughly clean and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was set up every morning with a full English made by John which was fantastic! All cooked with local fresh produce. John and Julie made our stay thoroughly enjoyable and we didn't want to go home. We will definitely be coming back soon! Close to the beach and all attractions. We highly recommend this guest house, the best we’ve stayed in by far. Thanks John and Julie for making our stay in Scarborough so much better.

See you again Charlene and Lauren x

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank What84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julieandjohn2017, Owner at Almar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks very much for the amazing review. It was lovely to meet you both and a pleasure having you stay with us. Hope we see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2019

John and julie was the best host we could ever ask for very cheerful and kind we stayed there for 3 days and room was great comfy good size room bed big flat screen tv bathroom was good size and different i liked the house and rooms was cleaned everyday and full english was the best ive ever had in a long time keep up the good work from john-paul and natalie

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Palethorpejohnpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julieandjohn2017, Owner at Almar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks so much for taking the time to post such a great review. It was lovely having you stay with us and hope we see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews