We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect B and B”
Review of The Almar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Almar
Ranked #6 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect B and B”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Me and my husband stayed at The Almar for one night and wished we'd booked for longer. The decor in the room was modern and beautifully furnished, and spotlessly clean. Jamie and Michelle were so friendly and made us feel very welcome. The B and B is a good 25-30 minutes from the south beach, but located in a lovely quiet area close to the north beach. Breakfast was also amazing: for £50 a night (for the small room) we were overwhelmed with what good value for money it was. Would recommend to anyone staying in the area. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyWhyld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    37
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
95
298
51
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Had a fantastic stay at The Almar. Jamie, Michelle and Naomi were all very helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble.

The whole guest house is spotless with lovely decor. The breakfast is the best we've ever had!

We will definitely return when we visit Scarborough again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Just returned from another wonderful stay at the Almar!!
Everything was as great as on my other visits and Jamie and Michelle were as friendly and helpful as always. Many thanks for making my stay so relaxing and for being so friendly and caring. See you soon xx

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield U.K
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Had a lovely stay at the almar jamie and michelle were excellent hosts nothing was too much trouble . Our room was very clean and beautifully decorated as were all public areas. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice .We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonic4u99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

This was our third stay at the Almar and you could not ask for better hosts in Jamie and Michelle. The accommodation is spotless, the breakfast hot, plentiful and served with a smile and the location perfect for not only Scarborough but for the local area.

The bathroom in the cupboard in room 2 is also very quirky

Will definitely going back for a fourth time

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SARAH C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Jamie and Michelle run an excellent B and B. They make a real effort to see that their guests feel welcome. They have useful advice on the local area.
The place is clean and smart, the decor pleasant and fresh. The area is good, close to Peasholm Park.
Breakfast is excellent, a wide selection and well made.
We liked this place very much.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

We had such a wonderful stay at The Almar, it was so refreshing to meet a couple who love what they do.
So welcoming and accommodating to us and our 4 month old baby girl. We were made to feel at home throughout our stay and Jamie and Michelle really go that extra mile with nothing being too much trouble, even entertaining our baby girl whilst we ate our breakfast! :)
Parking is available just outside. Rooms are modern, super clean with everything you need. Breakfast is delicious!
I've already recommended The Almar to others and plan to go back soon to celebrate my 30th birthday.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sarita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.9 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,752 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#4 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.0 mi away
St Michael's Guest House
St Michael's Guest House
#2 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
0.3 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Almar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Almar

Property: The Almar
Address: 116 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Almar 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everyone’s idea of the perfect break is different….Whatever you are looking for though, you'll find it all here at The Almar. Our aim is to provide the perfect base where you can experience all that Scarborough has to offer, as well as all of the other numerous attractions of the North Yorkshire coast. We are located in the popular Columbus Ravine area which is very convenient for the North Bay attractions as Peasholm Park, the North Bay beaches and the Scarborough Open Air Theatre are all only a 5 minute stroll away. The entire guest house is tastefully decorated with well appointed en suite rooms. Whether you are with us for a short stay or a longer break, we are sure that you will enjoy an extremely comfortable time with us. With a warm and friendly family atmosphere, we welcome single travellers, couples, families and groups of friends alike and always ensure that everyone considers The Almar to be a real home from home! As the new owner of The Almar my aim is to continually improve the quality and facilities of the 3* guest house. With this in mind The Almar Beauty will be introduced during the summer for the convenience of all our future guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Almar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Almar Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing