We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excelent”
Review of The Almar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Almar
Ranked #6 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2013

first time staying here and will definitely come again . two minute walk from peasholm park 7 or 8 mins from north beech very clean , friendly staff, good quality breakfast cooked fresh to order xxxxx

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chriscar191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (599)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 599 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

The Almar is a lovely little hotel very near Peasholme Park and a short walk from beach. Near enough to everything you need but far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the main sea front. The hosts were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were modern, clean and comfortable. The small friendly bar area was a bonus with beers, wine and spirits at very reasonable prices. Breakfast was the best. Good quality food, cooked and presented well. We would definitely recommend the Almar for your stay in Scarborough. You will have a warm welcome from Jamie and Michelle who will always go that extra mile for all their guests.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diane c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I had never been to Scarborough before but I definitely will go again after staying at the Almar.

The rooms were nice and so was the breakfast, it was really near the beach and park, with a very good pub and chippy nearby.

The best bit about the hotel was the owners, especially Jamie who made me feel very welcome.

Joel (age 11)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RCannon69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

spotlessly clean ,Jamie and michelle made us very welcome ,really nice couple,rooms are nicely decorated and modern as is bar and breakfast area ,nice breakfast from choice of cerials ,to full English, staff are very friendly,would recommend this hotel and will be staying again

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arnie1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Recently returned from a 2 night break at The Almar, and what a great place it is. Jamie & Michelle made us feel most welcome; they are the perfect hosts, always friendly, flexible and accommodating. Our room was very impressive - nicely decorated with a clean and fresh en suite. The bar and other public areas were also first class. I have stayed in many hotels in Scarborough over the years, but The Almar is the best by far. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drib01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

my 2nd visit this year 7 night this time this hotel gets better every time you stay great breakfast great welcome from jamie michelle and the staff rooms are spotless if you going to scarborough this is the place to stay i am now planing my next stay in the new year can not wait till i am back at almar again

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gusblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from our 2nd visit to the Almar and once again my wife and had another fantastic few days stay there soon as we arrived we were made to feel like family rather than guests the room we stayed in was lovely warm tidy very clean the breakfast excellent set us up for the day all in all superb and will be going back very soon. So if you are ever in the Scarborough area looking for a warm and friendly place to stay look no further than the Almar where the owners Michelle and Jamie will make you feel at home from the moment you arrive to the moment u leave.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank chriswilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 183 in Scarborough
845 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
#16 of 183 in Scarborough
191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#3 of 183 in Scarborough
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
St Michael's Guest House
St Michael's Guest House
#2 of 183 in Scarborough
992 reviews
0 mi away
The Beaches
The Beaches
#4 of 183 in Scarborough
296 reviews
0.1 mi away
North Bay Guest House
North Bay Guest House
#5 of 183 in Scarborough
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Almar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Almar

Address: 116 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $69 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Almar 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everyone’s idea of the perfect break is different….Whatever you are looking for though, you'll find it all here at The Almar. Our aim is to provide the perfect base where you can experience all that Scarborough has to offer, as well as all of the other numerous attractions of the North Yorkshire coast. We are located in the popular Columbus Ravine area which is very convenient for the North Bay attractions as Peasholm Park, the North Bay beaches and the Scarborough Open Air Theatre are all only a 5 minute stroll away. The entire guest house is tastefully decorated with well appointed en suite rooms. Whether you are with us for a short stay or a longer break, we are sure that you will enjoy an extremely comfortable time with us. With a warm and friendly family atmosphere, we welcome single travellers, couples, families and groups of friends alike and always ensure that everyone considers The Almar to be a real home from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Almar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Almar Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing