We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the Almar.”
Review of The Almar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Almar
Ranked #10 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I know we chose the best b&b in Scarborough because the hospitality and service were amazing. From entering the hotel to leaving we felt very welcome and at home. Jamie couldn`t do enough for us. Breakfast was amazing you could have as much or as little as you wanted and everything was cooked fresh and to order. Our room was spacious and comfortable, fresh towels every day, even though we didn`t need them as we were only there for three days. PS Hope Michelle gets better soon, it would be nice to meet her on our next visit.
Dave & Dawn

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn2762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (584)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

393 - 399 of 584 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

Having just spent the night in The Almar we were pleasantly surprised how clean the Guest House was, showers were super hot, very modern bedroom and comfy bed. 5 star Breakfast and great hospitality by Jamie, sorry to miss meeting his fiancee who was very ill-Jamie you were a star!We will definitely be returning because there was so much to see and we didn't have time!It was a bonus because we were able to park outside the Guest House+ he let us park there because no-one was coming by car the sunday morning before we went home. Much appreciated!!! The town is only a 15 minute walk, and the night life was great too.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This was my second stay at the almar and wont be my last. Jamie is a warm, friendly host who couldnt do enough for you. Its a shame michelle was so ill this time because she is equally kind, warm and friendly.
The b+b is spotlessly clean and the rooms are lovley. The bed in room one is nothing short of comfort to the highest degree.
I would recomend the Almar to everybody.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauran R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

A great b&b, modernised to an excellent standard. The place is really clean & tidy & the owner, Jamie, was extremely helpful and friendly. Breakfast was very tasty, with plenty of options. We'll definitely be back. - Simon & Gill

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonKez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

A warm friendly welcome from Jamie (unfortunately michelle was ill at the time of our visit,we hope she gets well soon) Although Jamie was mostly on his own this did not detract from the superb service provided. The room was very clean, warm and comfortable, breakfast was excellent .Nothing was too much trouble including giving useful information on Scarborough and the surrounding areas. All in all a perfect break at a very competitive and reasonable price. JUST LIKE HOME FROM HOME! We certainly highly recommend this hotel to all.
PAUL AND CAROLINE

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pancscho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We knew we had found a great place to stay after our first visit....a warm welcome...nothing too much trouble....spotless throughout.....marvellous food...we rebooked on leaving and have now rebooked two more stays....keep up the good work Jamie and Michelle....see you again soon...Mark and Liz

Room Tip: All good..........
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

During our stay at the almar we had an amazing welcome, the owner Jamie was really helpful and was there to help us with anything we needed. He gave us a map of Scarborough and talked us through everywhere that he recommended, and helped us with any other questions. He welcomed us whenever we came into the hotel and checked we had a good day! Jamie is a lovely man and we are honoured to of stayed in this hotel! We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone as you will have the time of your life here! Sad to see michelle is poorly and we didn't get to meet her but im sure she is an amazing person! Already recommended to my mum and dad! Hopefully will you see you again soon, thanks again for an amazing stay! love Samantha and simon xxx

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.9 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
122 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,928 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 184 in Scarborough
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
St Michael's Guest House
St Michael's Guest House
#2 of 184 in Scarborough
962 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Baia Hotel
La Baia Hotel
#8 of 184 in Scarborough
564 reviews
0.0 mi away
North Bay Guest House
North Bay Guest House
#6 of 184 in Scarborough
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Almar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Almar

Address: 116 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $54 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Almar 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everyone’s idea of the perfect break is different….Whatever you are looking for though, you'll find it all here at The Almar. Our aim is to provide the perfect base where you can experience all that Scarborough has to offer, as well as all of the other numerous attractions of the North Yorkshire coast. We are located in the popular Columbus Ravine area which is very convenient for the North Bay attractions as Peasholm Park, the North Bay beaches and the Scarborough Open Air Theatre are all only a 5 minute stroll away. The entire guest house is tastefully decorated with well appointed en suite rooms. Whether you are with us for a short stay or a longer break, we are sure that you will enjoy an extremely comfortable time with us. With a warm and friendly family atmosphere, we welcome single travellers, couples, families and groups of friends alike and always ensure that everyone considers The Almar to be a real home from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Almar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Almar Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing