We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you visit Scarborough, stay at The Almar!”
Review of The Almar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Almar
Ranked #7 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“If you visit Scarborough, stay at The Almar!”
Reviewed March 24, 2012

It was an absolute pleasure to stay at The Almar for a 2 night spring break. Great location close to Peasholm Park & open air theatre.There are 3 car park spaces at front of the hotel on first come, first served basis. We were early enough to get the car parked, so that was one problem solved. Jamie was a great host & very friendly. He recommended a great Italian restaurant, which lived up to our expectations. The double room was great and just the right size for a short break - very clean & tidy but I have to say that the bathroom was immaculate! Bed very comfy - we had 2 good nights sleep. Nice touches in room: swivel towel rail over radiator & a vanity light over a head height mirror. Breakfast cooked to order & very, very nice. Free wifi was a big plus.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 4 overlooking back garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    39
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
95
303
54
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

I was only in Scarborough for one night but I felt very welcome at The Almar. The room was attractive and breakfast ample. There was plenty of advice available on places to eat and on routes around the town. Free wi-fi was welcome. The hotel's parking spaces were occupied when I arrived at 6pm but there was no problem in finding adjacent parking on the road.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJB65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We had 1 night stay, at The Almar, and it was excellent. Thanks to Jamie, Michelle and Joel`s hard work,we enjoyed our short, but sweet stay. We were given a double room at the front of the hotel, which was large and airy with plenty of light, it was spottlessly clean, and had a novel aspect. We both had a brillant nights sleep, the bed was very comfortable.
Breakfast was very good, plenty of choice, and of a high standard.
The Almar is very well situated, 5 minute walk to the corner cafe(north bay); 20 to 25 min to the town centre and the railway station, and is on a bus route also, so it makes a very handy place to stay.
The Owners will recommend places to eat on a night, depending on your tastes, there seems to be a good choice near-by. We decided to eat in town, at an italian, called Da-claudio, it was very good, we had a brillant night.
We can see why, The Amar is so highly rated,everyone is so friendly and professional at the same time. Thanks again, we will return, if we can get booked in!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iandjonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Booked The Almar as part of a Birthday Celebration weekend. We had a double room on the front of the hotel which was very clean and had a very comfortable bed. Jamie greeted us on arrival and immediately made us feel very welcome. We parked the car outside and then walked every where as the hotel had a great location. Within easy reach of Stephen Joseph theatre and the Town Centre. At breakfast, Michelle made us very welcome and the Full English Breakfast was brilliant, one of the nicest we have ever had.This is a very welcoming and very clean hotel which is a credit to the team. Will definately be be back in the summer. Thank you for a lovely weekend!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carleton50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

super b&b very clean &comfortable jamie & michelle are very friendy nothing to much trouble.
the breakfast is the best around,would reccomend anyone to stay.

Room Tip: the shower& toilet in room 9 is to compact
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbys
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Had a great 1 night stay at the Almar,our hosts were very friendly and helpful,the rooms were comfortable and clean,breakfast was very nice and was nice to have a decent sausage other than an icelands value brand,will def go back again in the warmer months.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chezzy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Had a weekend away for my birthday . went to york for the day and then stayed at the Almar .Jamie Welcome us the place felt very homely very clean love the bathroom
the food was very good ,
when we asked about parking fees in the town .We were told don`t be silly you stayed here last night leave your car until you want to leave and don`t forget if you need the loo come back and use ours
B&B is about 300 yds from the park which is about 200yds from the beach.
we will be going back again

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruthkingshott_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.9 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,836 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
857 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 182 in Scarborough
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#4 of 182 in Scarborough
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
North Bay Guest House
North Bay Guest House
#5 of 182 in Scarborough
440 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Baia Hotel
La Baia Hotel
#6 of 182 in Scarborough
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Almar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Almar

Property: The Almar
Address: 116 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Almar 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everyone’s idea of the perfect break is different….Whatever you are looking for though, you'll find it all here at The Almar. Our aim is to provide the perfect base where you can experience all that Scarborough has to offer, as well as all of the other numerous attractions of the North Yorkshire coast. We are located in the popular Columbus Ravine area which is very convenient for the North Bay attractions as Peasholm Park, the North Bay beaches and the Scarborough Open Air Theatre are all only a 5 minute stroll away. The entire guest house is tastefully decorated with well appointed en suite rooms. Whether you are with us for a short stay or a longer break, we are sure that you will enjoy an extremely comfortable time with us. With a warm and friendly family atmosphere, we welcome single travellers, couples, families and groups of friends alike and always ensure that everyone considers The Almar to be a real home from home! As the new owner of The Almar my aim is to continually improve the quality and facilities of the 3* guest house. With this in mind The Almar Beauty will be introduced during the summer for the convenience of all our future guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Almar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Almar Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing