We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50th wedding anniversary surprise”
Review of The Almar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Almar
Ranked #10 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2011

i booked the almar for my parents golden wedding,i booked them in from fri-mon,joel and michelle greeted them on arrival and my parents said they made them feel very welcome.
The room i had booked for them was lovely and clean and had everything they needed,the breakfast service was outstanding with a very good choice,cooked beautifully and well presented,michelle served them breakfast on the sat morning and told them of places of interest they may like to see,mum and dad had a lovely time and will definately be returning.
thanks michelle and joel xxx

Room Tip: rooms are vey nicely set out and comfy
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sylvia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (580)
There are newer reviews for The Almar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

528 - 534 of 580 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2011

We have just returned from a wonderful 2 night weekend break with all the family. We took over the whole hotel. Jamie, Joel and Michele provided an excellent evening buffet and bar on Friday and Saturday to celebrate our ruby wedding aniversary. We had an 8,6,4 and 2 year old with us who had a great time as we were all made so welcome. The rooms were comfotable and clean and the breakfasts were very enjoyable. The Almar and Scarborough was a lovely way to spend a family celebration. Nothing was too much trouble for Jamie, Joel and Michele.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

A 2 night family stay in Scarborough. We read the reviews on Tripadvisor what an excellent choice. The rooms were spotlessly clean with all you could require. We were greeted by the owner Jamie who could not have made us more welcome. The breakfast service was excellent with a very good choice, all well cooked and beautifully presented by Joel. There was a very personal service and you felt like you were staying with friends. Michelle served us breakfast on our first morning and was very helpful with places to go and see and have a meal or snack. We will be sure to return and could not recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clareabella046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

An overnight stay whilst on business in Scarborough. A warm welcome from Jamie and a single en-suite room at the rear of the hotel which was clean, quiet and with a well stocked hospitality tray. Excellent choice at breakfast, which was well cooked and efficiently served by Jamie himself. Will recommend to my friends and business colleagues.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We recently stayed at the Almar for 3 nights. It was spotlessly clean and had all that was needed to make our stay comfortable. Our room was light, airy and well heated, useful in October. The breakfasts were well cooked, and there was more than enough food to satisfy even the largest appetite. The thing that made the Almar stand out from other hotels/B & Bs was the owners. They really went out of their way to make us feel welcome and to make our stay special, and to point out where things were in the town, somewhere we'd never been before. A nice touch was that on our last day we could leave the car on their car park until we were ready to go home. Should we visit Scarborough again we will definitely stay in the Almar, excellent value for money and in a quiet part of the town but within walking distance of the beach and all the attractions.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chelonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Having read the reviews on Tripadvisor we decided to stay at the Almar. What an excellent choice. We wanted to stay somewhere homely and with that 'personal touch'. We were very warmly welcomed and helped with our luggage. Jamie made restaurant and taxi bookings for us whilst we relaxed at the bar for pre-dinner drinks (and it was happy hour!) Michelle served breakfast which was individually freshly cooked to perfection by Joel.They have a wealth of expertise and experience between them with the drive, enthusiasm and commitment to make this a wonderful small hotel. Always prepared to go the extra mile... or in Jamie's case... marathon!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Made welcome from beginning to the end of our stay. Enjoyed every minute will REVISIT again,thank you.The food and service was spot on and cleanliness was superb. The hotel is central for everthing and no problem with parking. Thank you once again for making our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ann b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.9 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,909 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
915 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 184 in Scarborough
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#4 of 184 in Scarborough
292 reviews
0.0 mi away
North Bay Guest House
North Bay Guest House
#6 of 184 in Scarborough
455 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Baia Hotel
La Baia Hotel
#9 of 184 in Scarborough
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Almar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Almar

Address: 116 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $54 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Almar 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everyone’s idea of the perfect break is different….Whatever you are looking for though, you'll find it all here at The Almar. Our aim is to provide the perfect base where you can experience all that Scarborough has to offer, as well as all of the other numerous attractions of the North Yorkshire coast. We are located in the popular Columbus Ravine area which is very convenient for the North Bay attractions as Peasholm Park, the North Bay beaches and the Scarborough Open Air Theatre are all only a 5 minute stroll away. The entire guest house is tastefully decorated with well appointed en suite rooms. Whether you are with us for a short stay or a longer break, we are sure that you will enjoy an extremely comfortable time with us. With a warm and friendly family atmosphere, we welcome single travellers, couples, families and groups of friends alike and always ensure that everyone considers The Almar to be a real home from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Almar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Almar Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing