We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, friendly, fun accommodation”
Review of Green Gables Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Green Gables Hotel
Ranked #111 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 16, 2013

If you're looking for 5* luxury, this isn't the place. If you're looking for cheap, friendly accommodation which is clean but dated, then this is the place.
The venue is huge, so you don't get disturbed by noise from other guests. There's lots to do (games room, full billiard table, pool etc) and the small bar in the evening is welcoming and relaxed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenGables36, Owner at Green Gables Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

thanks for your kind comments hope to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
There are newer reviews for Green Gables Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 278 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

Bikers weekend so difficult to get a room anywhere in Scarborough usually we stay at North Bay. This came up on last Minute.com. Staff very friendly, room large and clean. The breakfast was brilliant, lots of friendly Staff on duty and very busy. Within easy walking distance of South Bay and the Town Centre. Only downside can't check in til 3.00pm but they did let us leave the car earlier but then we had to go back.

Room Tip: We didn't have a shower just a bath so worth asking.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenGables36, Owner at Green Gables Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Glad you enjoyed your stay we will install more showers again this winter. Hope to see you again next year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

This is our second visit to green gables this year. Rooms dated but clean . Staff friendly and helpful ( Matthew ) who I think works 24/7 . Breakfast is one of best you will find in scarborough . Will be returning again soon .

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanneD1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenGables36, Owner at Green Gables Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

thanks for your kind comments hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

the hotel is Fantastic.There's plenty to do for the kids the staff are very Freindly and polite.the kids love it. we have been here loads of times and would stay all year if we could very nice.
thanx mr dale.

Room Tip: balcony room is very quite and has a good view.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenGables36, Owner at Green Gables Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

thanks for your kind comments glad you enjoyed your stay once again and hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We have just got back from staying at this hotel with my husband and 7 year old son we all had a lovely time was much better than been in just a hotel room. The staff where very friendly and caring and the hotel was very clean is dated but for the price fab. Will defo return a real find

Room Tip: If a family get a flat is great not having to creep around will trying to get children to sleep plus...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenGables36, Owner at Green Gables Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay in one of apartments, hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I thought this hotel was lovely,really friendly and helpfull staff , we stayed bed and breakfast and it was cereals fruit or yoghurt s or a cooked breakfast .the hotel was very clean my only down side was the pool which was absolutely freezing and the beds were really hard its five minutes to the sea front in the car but a bit of a walk if you're walking and you have children there is a big park at the back of green gables which the children really loved I would recomend this hotel and I would stay here again

Room Tip: The little flats are brilliant like a big house lots of room
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenGables36, Owner at Green Gables Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The pool has a constant water temperature of 30 degrees all year round. We do check beds on a regular basis and change when necessary, sorry if yours was not to your liking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed in Sept before school with my 10 year old. Yes the hotel is woodchip, pale pink and green. the decor is old and out dated. BUT its really clean, the staff are really friendly, our breakfast arrived quick enough and was plentiful and well cooked. The games room and pool were FAB. We have stayed in some modern 4 and 5 star hotels which were miserable! I know which we prefer. Thanks Green Gables for making our break stress free and enjoyable we would recommend this hotel and would go back

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenGables36, Owner at Green Gables Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

glad you had a good stay thanks for your kind comments and hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.8 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,257 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,907 reviews
0.7 mi away
No. 17 West Street
No. 17 West Street
#24 of 184 in Scarborough
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Scarborough Travel and Holiday Lodge
0.8 mi away
Mansion House Scarborough
Mansion House Scarborough
#18 of 184 in Scarborough
633 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Sands - Sea Front Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Gables Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Gables Hotel

Address: Green Gables West Bank, Scarborough YO12 4DX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $56 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Gables Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green Gables is a children family hotel offering Bed & Breakfast and Self Catering accommodation. Catering for School & other groups for residential conferences including church groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Green Gables Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing