We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value and atmosphere.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Green Gables Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Green Gables Hotel
Ranked #101 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
liverpool
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent value and atmosphere.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Excellent value and atmosphere. Stayed in self catering apartment excellent value. Yes its dated but spotlessly clean and staff can't do enough for you. Friendly; warm and homely. Daughter aged 4 loved it everything safe and lots of child friendly activities. Couldn't ask for me - a big well done to all of the staff.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stella1232007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenGables36, Owner at Green Gables Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for your kind comments our staff work very hard to keep everywhere clean and it is good to hear you found all our staff helpful and friendly also.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    85
    41
    23
    17
See reviews for
148
27
Solo
0
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a weekend as part of a large educatinalgroup.Snowing with bitterly cold winds outside. This hotel is Victorian so the ceilings are very high and the heating could not keep up.My friend went to the lectures wrapped in a duvet! Luckily my room, U3,was small compared to most and was warm (still had to steal the duvet from the other bed though) my friends were given fan heaters so slept better the second night. The hotel is SPOTLESSLY clean. There seems to be miles of corridors so a gold medal to the person who dusts the skirting boards! Cooked breakfast really good and the scrambled egg better than any 5* I've been in. Evening fare - schools meals standard,edible and filling don't expect haute cuisine! All round it's cheap and cheerful, great for families and groups. Just pack a few more jumpers than I did!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Senorakh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenGables36, Owner at Green Gables Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
sorry you found the building cold we do try our best to keep the building warm but sometimes the aggresive easterly winds are just too much for certain areas of the building.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We ve been here before but never done a review. Read some reviews on here and can't believe people complaining.. Nice breakie, friendly helpful staff the place is spotless, yes it's not the ritz but they aren't ritz prices. Great location not been on the east coast for about 5 years and we will be back here, we all had a great time.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarissabadonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenGables36, Owner at Green Gables Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for taking the time to post a review with your kind comments. The east coast does indeed have lots to offer and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future. We do very much consider ourselves to be a family friendly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Certainly is a budget hotel but if you're looking for a cheap stay with a bed, a bathroom and hearty meals for a great price this is your ticket. Hard to review as it is - I suppose - really for schools and large amounts of tourists but all in all, nothing special at all but does what it's supposed to. Swimming pool and vending machines were a nice touch! 5 minute walk to centre of town and 3 minute walk to station was always handy. Don't go expecting claridges, but cheap beds, a view across a rather grotty estate and hearty food.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristianKempy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenGables36, Owner at Green Gables Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
I would like to clarify that it is a 15minute walk to the station and 20 mins at least to the town centre. We have never considered ourselves to be on a parr with claridges or the ritz and am sorry if we misled you into thinking we are.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Over New yr I stayed with my wife and grandson,there was a large group of youths staying at same time they took over all lounges, games rooms ,etc and we could not use them for eqipment and meetings ,reception was like a shoe dump and we had to try to get passed them every day,at times the pool was made out of bounds except for the group staff did not seem to mind them taking over the place and football and basketball on car park ,fine If thats what they want but maybe they could let others know what to expect so they can choose wether to book or not I did fill in an appraisal form but never got an answer I did post an on line review but It seems to of got lost , I see the management comment on this site maybe I will get a response this time SGC Cheshire

Room Tip: Check If they have a youth group staying,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenGables36, Owner at Green Gables Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Sorry you felt pushed out by the group staying in the hotel whilst you were staying in one of our self catering apartments. We felt the pool was still available for general use for most of the day and only booked for short periods within in the 8am to 10pm opening times. I am sorry the games room was taken over I felt there was still opportunity for guests staying in the apartments to use it. The ground floor lounges and conservatory would not normally be available to those staying in the apartments. We will certainly bear in mind where ever possible to keep guests informed of others using the facilities in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

A very tired looking outside flaking paint "Our Apartment" view a brick wall payed 92 pound(1 night only) for an apartment so we could enjoy a rare break and relax it was like stepping back in time ( nightmare time machine) not had to wash my hair with a saucepan before(no shower) it smelt like a nursing home /and the gloss paint stench and frying smell on the back stairs was vile.Bed was old tired and the sofa well i dread to think what or who had sat on it previously plastic stools in bedroom awful. to sum up a reject from the 70's. When my husband complained the lady at reception sadly said "we have just refurbished that room"!!!! painting over wood chip is not a refurb
However the man on reception was pleasant and helpful and told us about local pubs and restaurants thank god could not wait to get out of place.
Breakfast was OK apart from the squabbling teenage staff who was going to serve who, who had not done what,It was not a professional team more the blind leading the blind and my house special porridge seemed to be lacking in the cream and brown sugar as stated on menu and was more wallpaper paste in appearnce..... perhaps from the room next door which was being decorated. So everything smelt of yet more gloss paint fumes .Having stayed at the madjeski stadium a four star hotel for just over 70 pounds this hotel is very over priced. later that day by complete accident I met another guest i asked did i see you at green gables?"yes" she replied" oh dear it was not very good was it. she said.
.we just looked at each other and nodded was not much more we could say.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ang k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenGables36, Owner at Green Gables Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Sorry you had a bad experience in one of aur apartments. If we misled you into thinking the accomadation was something other than it was then I apologise. Our claening staff work tirelessly to keep the building clean so I have no idea why you found it other than clean and tidy. I had not appreciated when I suggested eating places you were desperate to escape.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

My husband, daughter (3) and I recently visited this hotel. We found the decor a little dated but the facilities were excellent. The staff were very helpful and the parking was more than adequate. The location was ideal, next to a beautiful park area.
We stayed for the weekend and used the hotel pool every day of our stay. It was lovely to nip downstairs for a nice, warm swim.
Thank you to everyone involved in our stay, we will definitely be back.

Lisa, Rob and Amelia Hunter

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrshunterjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenGables36, Owner at Green Gables Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Glad you had a good stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.8 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
0.7 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#12 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.4 mi away
Scarborough Travel and Holiday Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Esplanade Gardens Hotel
Esplanade Gardens Hotel
#87 of 182 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
1.2 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.7 mi away
No. 17 West Street
No. 17 West Street
#25 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Gables Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Gables Hotel

Property: Green Gables Hotel
Address: Green Gables West Bank, Scarborough YO12 4DX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Gables Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green Gables is a children family hotel offering Bed & Breakfast and Self Catering accommodation. Catering for School & other groups for residential conferences including church groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Green Gables Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing